Gathering Background Information
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic?
In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. To truly learn a new concept or skill, you need to create a solid base or foundation.
Gathering background information on your topic is a great way to start any research assignment. By looking through encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference materials, you can usually find the following information very quickly:
- Brief overview of your topic
- Key concepts, people, dates, and events
- Lists of sources for further reading and bibliographies that may lead you to additional sources
A great way to create this base is by conducting research in encyclopedias or other reference sources, including the reference databases listed below.
Reference Databases
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
- Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online global resource including political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations.
You do not need to login to access content.
Additional Databases that cover issues (including environmental and controversial), provide summaries, etc.
These databases can provide nice summaries of topics, and include coverage of environmental topics as well as anything controversial.
- CQ Researcher (1923-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text. Five simultaneous users.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text essays representing multiple sides of about 250 topics; in addition, the database includes political magazines, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Designed to provide a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.