The Library Unbound: Milne Library News

John van Steenberg Art Book Collection Reception

The Huntington Memorial Library, the Galleries at SUNY Oneonta, and James M. Milne Library invite you to a reception celebrating the shared John van Steenberg Art Book Collection!

date: Thursday, October 10

time: 5:00pm - 7:00pm

location: James M. Milne Library, 102A/online

The van Steenberg Art Book Collection--located on the first floor of the Milne Library outside room 102--is provided thanks to a generous bequest to Huntington Memorial Library by John van Steenberg in honor of his aunt and uncle, Erna and A. Arthur Schiller. The family has long supported the art collection at Huntington Memorial Library by funding purchases of books about art and art history.   

The Collection is sustained and made available through a unique partnership between Huntington Memorial Library,  SUNY Oneonta Galleries and Milne Library. The Huntington Memorial Library Director selects the titles, including recommendations from the Librarian Liaison to Art and SUNY Oneonta Galleries Director, in collaboration with members of the Art Department faculty. The Huntington Memorial Library shares the collection with Milne Library, and all titles can be checked out by SUNY Oneonta students, staff and faculty. Huntington Memorial Library cardholders, too, can request John van Steenberg Collection titles for check out.

The James M. Milne Library is open to the public.  SUNY Oneonta students, faculty and staff, along with members of the Oneonta Community are welcome to check out The van Steenberg Art Book Collection on the first floor of Milne Library!

See the John van Steenberg Collection Guide for more resources and information.