The Library Unbound: Milne Library News

Transcripts of Tamriel: Elder Scrolls Online Roleplay Database Beta Launch

In Summer 2022, I started building a database to organize and archive transcripts from in-game roleplay sessions in The Elder Scrolls Online (ESO), a massively multiplayer online roleplaying game. At that point, I already had over 800 transcripts to process - and that was before even building the database structure.

Unlike tabletop RPG transcripts, which are often sparse and full of out-of-character chatter, these sessions were fully in-character, collaborative writing. This kind of live, co-authored storytelling - created inside a digital game world - is almost never preserved, let alone made searchable. The database provides a new, research-ready archive that could support work in game studies, digital media, linguistics, sociology, and beyond.

I built the project using TiddlyWiki, an open-source, single-file wiki platform. It gave me the flexibility I needed to assign complex metadata, create multiple search methods, and structure the content in a way that makes sense for researchers. It also allows for future updates and added features without requiring a full platform rebuild.

Thanks to my background in librarianship - particularly in reference, instruction, and emerging technologies - I was able to develop the database as a functional research tool. It preserves a rare community-generated dataset and supports inquiry into narrative construction, digital identity, and online collaboration.

With support from student workers and interns, the project has progressed rapidly. I'm excited to share that the beta version of the database will debut at the Southwest Popular/American Culture Association’s Summer Salon on June 26. It will also be released publicly for research use and feedback.

To explore the project, visit Transcripts of Tamriel: Elder Scrolls Online Roleplay Database. There you’ll find a download link, background information, and a form to sign up for updates or submit feedback.