Skip to Main Content

PROF 1200: College Learning Strategies (Webster) Spring 2023

Contact Me

Profile Photo
Heather Stalter
She/her
Contact:
315 Milne Library
607-436-3585

Jessica Alden

Photo of a woman, Jessica Alden, with information about the dates of her graduation and librarianship at Oneonta Normal School

FAQ

Library Help: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 

After hours and anytime, the ever-expanding Library Help FAQ knowledge base has answers to a broad array of questions plus the opportunity to submit your own question. 

Welcome to the Alden Room!

Milne Library's Alden Room is the home of many treasures that document the history of the College and student life beginning with the College's foundation as the Oneonta Normal School in 1889.  The room is named in honor of Jessica Alden, the first librarian at the Oneonta Normal School.  Yearbooks, newspapers, and other student publications as well as photographs, scrapbooks, office and department documents, sorority pins and other memorabilia, and a biography file comprise the archives.  

In addition, there is an extensive lantern slide collection as well as numerous special book collections: New York State histories, Faculty Publications, Masters Theses, Early Textbooks, O'Mara Native American Collection, New York State Verse, Cornell-Gladstone-Hanlon-Kaufmann Collection, Popular Fiction, Private Press Publications, and Special Collections Miscellanies.

All of these materials are available for you to research or browse, simply contact Heather for an appointment.

You can also learn more by checking out the Special Collections Guide.

If you have any questions or are interested in learning more about our history and would like to make an appointment to browse other collections, please email me at heather.stalter@oneonta.edu!

Rules of the Alden Room

In order to keep all materials in the best possible condition for future generations of students, we ask everyone visiting the Alden Room to observe the following:

  • Food, drink (including water) and gum are to be left outside the Alden Room
  • Pencils and paper or electronic devices are to be used when taking notes, taking care not to lean anything on the Alden Room materials
  • When pulling a book off the shelf, never pull it out by the top of the spine
  • Handle materials with care, making sure that they are fully supported
  • When done using materials, leave them on the tables rather than returning them to the shelves.
  • For additional guidelines, see Handling Rare Books from U Texas, San Antonio Libraries 

Library Floor Plans

1st Floor

2nd Floor

3rd Floor

Chat

Library Help Chat

 

Is the library closed? E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 24 hours (weekdays only).

Reference and research help

Research Consultations

When you need in-depth help on a topic for a research paper or project, you can schedule an hour-long, one-on-one research consultation with a reference librarian. Reference librarians provide personal research consultations regarding specialized resources, specific assignments, or other in-depth research needs. Consultations will be conducted online via Teams or through email with the assigned librarian.

Request a research consultation here