Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero: Create Bibliographies

How to effectively use Zotero, the citation management software

Adding additional styles to Zotero

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style:

  1. Go to the Zotero Style Repository page.
  2. Search for the name of the style you need.
  3. Download the style (right-click the Install link and choose Save As).
  4. Open Zotero preferences. Click Cite, then Styles, then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file).

The new style will appear in Zotero's style lists.

Creating Quick Bibliographies

It's easy to create a bibliography from your Zotero library. These methods work with any word processor (or anywhere you can paste text).

Create a bibliography from a Collection

If you want to include everything in a Collection folder, right click on the folder in your Zotero Library. Click "Create Bibliography From Collection" option (see image at right).

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

Create a bibliography from selected items

Select the references or collections you want to include. Hold the control key and click to select multiple items. One your list is complete, right-click one of the selected items and choose Create Bibliography (see image below).

Choose the bibliographic style you want, select Copy to Clipboard, click OK and paste into your word processor.

Create bibliography from selected Zotero list

Here is your bibliography

Zotero Libguide License

Creative Commons License

Librarians and educators: This page uses ideas from a guide created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License. Our thanks to Jason and GSU!

You may reproduce any part of it for noncommercial purposes as long as credit is included.  We encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.