Milne Library Databases
Background information on a topic can often be found in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources. Reference sources provide background information on a topic, clarify definitions, and often include bibliographies which cite books and journal articles.
Books can be a good place to find an overview of a topic. References to journal articles and books can often be found in a bibliography at the end of a chapter. Since journal articles are often more focused than books, they may provide more specific information than books. References to additional articles and books can often be found in a bibliography at the end of an article.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to peer-reviewed research journals published by the American Chemical Society. The ACS Journal of Chemical Education is available. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
- Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowAvailable through GeoScienceWorld. Contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes access to millions of indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature. Coverage is from 1669 to the present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAddresses human impacts on the environment. Offers indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records. Some full-text. Coverage is from about 1915 to the present.
Can be used for course content: Extensive full-text content. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
