It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science: A Guide to Research: Databases & Journals
The CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between. Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015, the Guide will include chapters on: analysis of the campaigns for presidency, from the primaries through the general election; data on the candidates, winners/losers, and election returns; details on congressional and gubernatorial contests from the primaries through the general elections supplemented with vast historical data; coverage of campaign finance, as well as reapportionment and redistricting.
Search for volumes in Sage Knowledge. Provides more than 230 tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American politics. Introductory material assists readers in understanding and interpreting statistical material. Coverage is from 1788.
Covers criminology, criminal justice, corrections and prisons, police and policing, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse, probation, and parole. Contains over 200,000 records. Coverage is from 1910 to the present.
"The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office."
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Open access.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database. Provides summaries of more than 190,000 criminal justice publications. About 7000 full text publications are available through the NCJRS Virtual Library.
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. Also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers.
This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972 High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
Provides full-text for over 850 journals as well as abstracts for about 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this database provides indexing from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals and about 2,000 "selective" coverage journals. Contains extensive indexing for books/monographs (with about 850 available full-text), conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Also includes searchable cited references.
Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide.
"A deep database of every vote in the United States Congress since the 102nd Congress (1991). It lets you browse votes in a variety of ways -- both in aggregate and for individual members of Congress." From the Washington Post.