Welcome
This guide will help you get started with finding empirical articles for PHED 209, Cultural Competencies in Health and Fitness. While our session focused on resources specific to locating articles, please take some time to familiarize yourself with other library resources and services. Wishing each of you a successful term.
Library Catalog
- James M. Milne LibrarySelect the Library Catalog tab to search the physical collections of the library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.
Interlibrary Loan
The ILLiad system allows current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain materials from other libraries. After creating an account you can:
- -- borrow items from other libraries
- -- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries
- -- review the status of your requests
- -- check due dates of outstanding loans
- -- ask for renewals
Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowFormerly know as Health Reference Center Academic, this database includes over 2,000 full text sources, including 40 nursing and allied health journals, with over 12,000,000 articles available. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
