Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find the style guide and other resources for APA by visiting the link below.
Librarian
Contact
CONTACT ME
To contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu
Chat
LIBRARY HELP CHAT
Looking up Ticker Symbol
Using a company's ticker symbol will help find accurate information and prevent the accidental use of subsidiaries.
- A Google search can show a company's ticker symbol
- Yahoo Finance Ticker Symbol Lookup (also provides full name of public companies)
Websites
You can find a lot of publicly available financial information on companies using the following links from the U.S. government and websites.
Wall Street Journal
Students, faculty and staff can activate their Oneonta-sponsored WSJ+ digital memberships by visiting the link below.
- Student access to WSJ+ is valid for four years plus six months post graduation.
- Faculty and staff need to refresh access to WSJ+ every year (see answer below for more information).
Fortune
It is best to access this publication within Business Source Complete. To do so, navigate to BSC and, in the search fields, use:
JN "Fortune"
along with your company name in the following field.
Note that BSC uses "Strategic Planning" as an alternative for "Strategic Management"
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
Finding Company Information
It is important to try to find company information from reports that have been published within the past two years. Tables of contents can help you find specific company information. It is also important to check multiple sources as some will fill in gaps other sources do not cover.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.