Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Languages and Literatures: A Guide to Research

Find print books

To look for books in the Milne Library catalog, navigate to the library homepage and click on 'Advanced Search.' Then enter your search terms.

  • If you want print volumes, change the search scope to 'Library Catalog', limit to 'Books', enter your search terms and click 'Search'. Once in the results list, click 'Held by Library' to limit to print volumes only.
  • If you wish to find online books, limit the search scope to 'Online Access' and change the 'Material Type' to 'Books'.

To search for electronic (online) books, search your topic in each of the following eBook databases.

Find eBooks

Open Access Online Books

There are many open access book collections available freely on the internet. Here are a few great collections:

Milne Library eBook Collections

There are two ways to find eBooks from the library's collections. One method is to search in the Milne Library catalog. Navigate to the library homepage and click on 'Advanced Search.' Then enter your search terms.

  • If you wish to find online books, limit the search scope to 'Online Access' and change the 'Material Type' to 'Books'.

The second method is to search each Milne Library's eBook databases (in case something in a database is not showing up in our catalog). All eBook databases are available in the A-Z Database list, and here are some best bets:

Interlibrary Loan

Milne Library doesn't hold the book you need?  You can request the book through Interlibrary loan. What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)? Click the link below and find out about ILL.

Browse books using call numbers

You can browse books on Milne Library's shelves. Most of books on Foreign Languages and Literature are classified under 'P' in the Library of Congress Classification system (used by academic libraries). Below are selected call number ranges for your information.

P101-410 Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar, including sign language (P116) and second language acquisition (P118-120).
PC1001-1977 Italian
PC2001-3761 French
PC4001-4977 Spanish
PE English
PF3001-5999 German
PJ701-989 Islamic literature
PJ6001-8517 Arabic
PL501-3208 Japanese, Korean, and Chinese languages and literature
PN General literature
PQ1-3999 French literature
PQ6001-8929 Spanish literature
HV1551-3024 People with disabilities (you could find some books on sign languages)

 

How to read call numbers

Milne Library uses 'Library of Congress Classification (LCC)' to assign call numbers for books.

If the Call Number is  P221 .A84 2011 (title: Understanding phonetics)

P221 describes the subject of the book. P221 is 'Phonetics'. Read the letter in alphabetical order and the number as a whole number

.A84 represents the author's last name. Read the letter alphabetically and the number as a decimal.

2011 represents the date of publication.