Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Languages and Literatures: A Guide to Research

Research Support

Find research sources with a library search

This page offers ideas for how and where to search for research sources in the Milne Library. Scroll down to find databases full of articles and search tips that are tailored to your subject.

Need help with your research on a specific subject?Woman faces path of confusion

Contact the library's Reference Desk to help find a source, or set up a consultation with a Reference & Instruction Librarian for an hour-long research session. For more information, visit the Get Library Help page

Image by Wannapik

Library Search Tips

Search Tips for Databases

Databases are searchable online catalogs for research materials like scholarly journals and articles, books, primary source materials (such as letters, maps, datasets, or photographs), and video and audio materials. Milne Library's databases are all listed at A-Z Databases

Use "advanced" search functions in databases

For best results, use Advanced Search options. Try combining a few keywords about the topic, such as the name of a region or country AND a language-related term to find scholarly articles. 

Filter your search results

Look for "filter" options in your search results that let you choose a publication date range, for example. If you are looking for a certain kind of research material -- like a full-text article, a book, or an audio file -- you can often filter for type, too. 

Foreign Language Databases

Milne library subscribes to a number of databases where you can search for articles. The full list of databases are available on the library website under the 'Databases' tab as well. Some best bet databases for languages are included here. Specialized subject databases sometimes contain articles not found in Search Everything or General Databases.