Databases & Journals
Specialized subject databases sometimes contain articles not found in Search Everything or General Databases.
- Asian American Drama This link opens in a new windowSearch 252 plays by 42 Asian American playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Database provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion. It covers all regions of the world, with in-depth content from pre-history to the present day.
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Search more than 20 million biographical citations on more than 6 millions persons, living and deceased, from all fields of activity, covering more than 2,000 years of human history.
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window
Search plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Search the biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
- Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
A subset of VAST Academic Video Online. Provides about five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
- Early Theatre This link opens in a new windowA subset of ITER. Early Theatre is an online, peer-reviewed journal that welcomes research in medieval or early modern drama and theatre history, rooted in the records and documents of England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. The journal also publishes articles or notes on related materials either in Europe, or in parts of the world where English or European travellers, traders, and colonizers observed performances by other peoples. Although primarily focused on the performance history of any art, entertainment, or festive occasion of the period, Early Theatre also publishes interpretive or literary articles relating to the performances themselves. Each year the journal also features ‘Issues in Review,’ a section of related, short essays that together highlight new research directions and shape the field for further study.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Database contains thousands of full-length programs and streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS.
- Fine Arts and Music CollectionContains over 100 full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, music, art history, and film making. Provided by the New York State Library.
- Humanities Source
Includes both Humanities Full Text and Humanities International. Contains over 1400 full text journals with citations to over 3,500,000 articles.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextAn indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Offers about 170 full-text journals and 360 full-text books and monographs. Coverage is from about 1905 to the present.
- Iter Bibliography: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Provides over 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States, together with over 450 plays.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline including the full text of selected literary works from LitFinder. - Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.
- North American Indian DramaProvides about 250 full-text plays by 48 of the most important American Indian, First Nation, and Pacific Islander playwrights of the twentieth century. Groups represented include Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, and Hawaiian/Samoan. More than half the plays are previously unpublished.
- North American Theatre Online: Resource and Reference TextA comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies.
- North American Women's DramaProvides over 1,500 full-text plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, and production companies.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Search over 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries representing leading playwrights, actors and directors.
Can be used for course content: Excellent drama and theatre streaming video.