Databases & Journals in Elementary & Secondary Education
Specialized subject databases sometimes contain articles not found in Search Everything or General Databases.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of full-text reviews of children's books, and information on authors and illustrators, teaching materials, book awards, and more.
- CQ Researcher (1923-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text. Five simultaneous users.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 1700 journals, 550 books, and selected education-related conference papers. Covers elementary education, special education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, and teaching methods. Encompasses all content from Education Research Complete.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for over 1000 education publications. Offers over 300,000 full-text documents. Coverage is from about 1966 to the present.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Provides full text information on standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Education This link opens in a new window
From teacher retention strategies to early childhood development, the study of education features a range of disciplines including psychology, sociology, history, economics, philosophy, anthropology, and political science. The multidisciplinary nature of education makes it challenging to stay informed regarding applicable areas. Moreover, much of the relevant scholarship has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases. Thus, there are consistently new discoveries, new interpretations, and new theoretical concepts to take into account.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies Online offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles from the 100+ peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) from 1894 to the present. Links to full-text articles in other databases.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionA comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in fields of psychology, psychiatry, social work and related disciplines from 1887 to the present. Partial full-text / links to articles in other databases.
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowProvides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments, plus descriptive information test development and administration.
- Teacher Reference Center
Offers abstracts for about 300 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.