Dewey Decimal Classification
Finding Children's Books
The children’s books are located on the second floor of the Milne Library in the area loosely known as the Dewey Area. The children’s fiction books are located in the EASY section and are arranged by the first three letters of the author’s last name. The nonfiction books are located in the Child Coll section and are arranged using the Dewey Decimal System. This classification system is the system most school libraries use.
To locate specific titles, you can use the library’s Milne Search function on the library homepage. Beneath the search bar on the Search tab, you will see a link for Advanced Search. Click on that. You will then see a large search box. On this page, you can select the Children’s Collection. By selecting this choice, you can search specifically for books in the Children’s Collection. This function allows you to filter out books that would not be in that particular area.
K-12 Databases
The databases listed below were talked about in our virtual class. These databases are made for K-12 students, so all the content will be grade level and age appropriate. In both databases you will see a link in the upper right hand corner, it will either say Educator or Educator Tools. From here you can specify specific NYS standards and find materials within the database that correlates to each one.
- Britannica School This link opens in a new windowOffers three separate databases - Elementary, Middle and High, containing articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended web sites, etc.
- World Book Online - Kids & Advanced This link opens in a new windowKIDS (grades K+) strengthens teaching skills for future educators. Students in educational programs can incorporate this database into their lesson plans as a way to teach research, integrate technology and meet the common core standards.
ADVANCED (grades 9+) includes encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, Back in Time articles, special reports and more, which enable more in-depth and conceptual understanding within the classroom curriculum.
TIMELINES (grades 5+) offers hundreds of pre-generated timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.