Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 110: Home

Librarian:Sarah Karas

Welcome

Welcome to the Course Guide for COMM 110. Below you will find a selection of information and resources that will be helpful when completing assignments for this course. 

A helpful hint to remember is that research is exploratory process. Good research means that you will be searching different resources (databases, online, catalog, etc.) and you will search each one multiple times with different keyword combinations. 

Finding A Topic

If you are stuck trying to decide on a topic for your paper, there are a few ways to generate ideas. 

  1. Scan newspaper headlines 
  2. Browse chapter titles in your textbook
  3. Check out what's trending 
  4. Use a Topic Idea Generator
  5. Use the "Browse Issues" section in the Opposing Viewpoints Database

Finding Articles

If you would like to access online resources, you can do that through the library’s databases. Click on the Databases tab on the library homepage. You can then browse alphabetically for a specific database or browse by discipline (subject matter) for a list of databases that fit the criteria.

When browsing by discipline, consider your topic’s subject matter. Does it relate to sports or education? Is it science based or have a sociological impact? For your topic related to the subject of disability, you will see a list of databases below that may be helpful. Keep in mind your subtopics. Is it education related? It is medical related? Read the summary below each database name to see which ones will serve your needs the best.

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

One way to locate print resources is through the Search Everything box on the library homepage. The best way to search for books, is to click on the Advanced Search link under the search box. Then select “Library Catalog” on the next page. Enter in a keyword and look at your results. You will then use the Call Number to locate the item in the library. If you need help finding the item, please do not hesitate to ask. 

The second way is through Worldcat. To access Worldcat, click on the Databases Tab. Then click on the W. Then scroll down until you see “Worldcat (OCLC First Search Legacy Interface). By searching through Worldcat, you have the ability to see books that Milne Library and other libraries worldwide own. If you would like a book that Milne library doesn’t own, you will request it through ILLiad.

***You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.***

Interlibrary Loan

The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to:

  • -- borrow items from other libraries
  • -- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries
  • -- review the status of your requests
  • -- check due dates of outstanding loans
  • -- ask for renewals
  • -- and much more.

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Visit the Reference Desk in Milne Library
  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually with a librarian

Does It Pass the CRAAP Test?