Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMM 110: Public Speaking (Karlson): Home

LIBRARY WEBSITE

To use the library's resources, go to the library website.

CITING YOUR SOURCES

You can find style guides for APA, MLA, and Chicago Manual of Style visiting Citing Sources. From there, you can find resources for citing various sources in one of the major styles. 

CONTACT ME

To contact me to set up a one-on-one, virtual consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu

ONLINE HELP

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response 
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually (and virtually) with a librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian using the Chat Box below

STARTING RESEARCH

When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? 

In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. You can think of it like you are scaffolding a learning assignment for your students. To truly learn a new concept or skill, you need to create a solid base or foundation. 

A great way to create this base is by conducting research in encyclopedias. Encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. 

 You can also access encyclopedias online through our reference databases like these: 

BOOLEAN OPERATORS

Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches. 

Here are six helpful ones to use: 

  1. AND - narrows 
    1. Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys) 
  2. NOT - excludes
    1. Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys) 
  3. OR - expands
    1. Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms) 
  4. * - expands 
    1. Ex: rac*  (using the asterisk in replace of an ending on a word will expand your search to include results that have any ending on the base word.)
  5. " " - exact phrase
    1. Ex: "executive functioning" (this pulls up results that are stated in the item exactly as written) 
  6. ( ) - confine
    1. Ex: (ADHD or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder) AND (boys or guys or males)     - (this will instruct the database or search engine on what parts go together in your search phrase

FINDING BOOKS IN MILNE LIBRARY

To look for books in the Milne Library catalog, navigate to the library homepage and click on 'Advanced Search.' If you wish to only find online books, leave the search scope to 'Online Access' and change the 'Material Type' to 'Books'. Then enter your search terms. If you desire print volumes, change the search scope to 'Library Catalog', limit to 'Books', enter your search terms and click 'Search'. Once in the results list, click 'Held by Library' to limit to print volumes only.

If you are planning to take books out of the library, please see the library's Spring 2021 Restart Guide for information on the procedure for checking out books.

FINDING SCHOLARLY ARTICLES

Find scholarly articles by using one of the databases listed below. These can also be found from the 'Databases' link on the Library's homepage.

 

For best results, use a database's Advanced Search option.

FINDING OTHER SOURCES

You can find news sources by searching Nexis Uni and Allsides.com. If you are looking for videos on a topic, try Films on Demand.