Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citing Sources (Citation Style): MLA

Links to resources that provide examples of how to write citations, create a works cited list, and format written documents in various styles for several academic disciplines.

NOTE: New Edition of MLA Handbook

MLA has recently released the eighth edition of its handbook. The print copy of the new edition is available in Milne Library's Reference Collection (REF LB 2369 G53 2016).

Excelsior College Online Writing Lab
All-round best guide to formatting papers and citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago. Also includes many tutorials on how to research and write papers. 

MLA Handbook, 8th edition

MLA Handbook, 8th edition  

REF LB 2369 G53 2016

The print style guide is more comprehensive than the web site and will have many more examples. Use the index to find examples.

The print copy is available in Milne Library's Reference Collection.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition

REF PE 1478 M57 2009

The print style guide is more comprehensive than the web site and will have many more examples. Use the index to find examples.

The print copy is available in Milne Library's Reference Collection.

MLA - Modern Language Association

Used for liberal arts and the humanities. Always use the style required by your instructor.  

The following sites provide examples of how to write citations in MLA format for specific sources including books, periodical articles, Web pages and other Internet resources.

Print this pdf version or ask for a copy at the Milne Library Research Help Desk. Written by Milne Librarians. Summary of the MLA guidelines.

Print this pdf version or ask for a copy at the Milne Library Research Help Desk. Written by Milne Librarians. Summary of the MLA guidelines.

All-round best guide to formatting papers and citations in MLA. Also includes many tutorials on how to research and write papers.