It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pre-Health Professions: A Guide to Research: Selected Books
Hot Health Care Careers, 2nd Ed by Andrew Morkes (Editor); Amy McKenna
Call Number: Circulating Collection R690 .H68 2017 (On Reserve) Ask at Circulation Desk
Hot Health Care Careers, 2nd edition features the hottest of the hot healthcare careers for people from all educational backgroundsfrom high school diploma to medical degree. Some of the jobs that are featured include Biomedical Engineer, Creative Arts Therapist, Dental Hygienist, Health Care Manager, Health Information Management Technician, Medical Illustrator, Mental Health Counselor, Occupational Therapist, Physical Therapist, Physician, Registered Nurse, and Surgeon. Each career article provides an overview of the job and typical work environments, educational requirements, personal skills, methods of exploring the career while still in high school, tips on landing a job, typical employers, information on the long-term employment outlook and hot specialties, and sources of additional information. The book also features interviews with professionals and educators, photographs, and useful sidebars that list books, websites, fun facts, and other helpful information.
Find the health career that's right for you! Health Careers Today, 6th Edition offers a practical overview to help you make an informed decision in choosing a profession. Not only does this book discuss the roles and responsibilities of various occupations, it provides a solid foundation in the skills that each health career requires. Clear explanations of anatomy and physiology provide essential knowledge of the human body and show how A&P applies to different careers. From experienced educator Judith Gerdin, this edition adds three new chapters, and an Evolve companion website includes new health career videos, animations, exercises, and more. A clear, easy-to-read approach makes it easy to explore and understand health career options. Over 45 health careers are discussed, including the requirements and roles and responsibilities of each. Full-color photographs, drawings, and design illustrate concepts, techniques, and equipment. Anatomy and Physiology unit covers all of the body systems, and applies A&P to various career settings. Skill Activities provide the opportunity to obtain hands-on experience. Review questions and critical thinking questions in each chapter allow you to test your understanding of what you've learned. Brain Bytes reinforce concepts and keep you engaged in the material. Health Careers in Practice boxes show working professionals in many health careers, featuring personal stories that you can relate to. Objectives and Key Terms at the beginning of each chapter focus on the key information to be learned. Chapter summaries make it easy to identify and review key content. Updated National Health Care Skills Standards are summarized with the specific number and name of each national standard covered in that chapter, along with page references. A glossary includes all key terms and definitions for quick reference. Evolve website provides exercises, new career videos, animations, and competency skill sheets for further information, review, and practice. A workbook corresponds to the chapters in the textbook, and features learning activities such as vocabulary practice exercises, medical abbreviation practice exercises, coloring/labeling activities, concept application exercises, laboratory exercises, critical thinking exercises, and online activities. Sold separately. NEW! Three new chapters on professionalism, medical mathematics, and medical terminology provide a firm foundation in health care basics. NEW CPR guidelines meet the 2015 guidelines for performing cardiopulmonary resuscitation. NEW! Employment strategies have been added to emphasize the skills necessary for retaining a job. NEW! Updated and expanded EHR information reflects the increased role of the electronic health record in health care. NEW! Expanded Culture and Health Care chapter prepares you to care for patients from other cultures and to address cultural differences safely and tactfully. NEW! Coverage of informatics and technology addresses this growing health care career. NEW! Career videos on the Evolve companion website showcase professionals discussing their health care career choices.
Cardiothoracic anesthesiologist and recent med school grad Dr. Richard Beddingfield serves as an unofficial older brother for pre-med and incoming med students--dishing on all the stuff he would've wanted to know from the beginning in order to make the most of med school's opportunities, while staying sane through the gauntlets of applying to and succeeding at med school, residency, fellowship, and starting work as a new physician. With advice from additional recent Ivy League med school grads and top-tier hospital residents, this all-in-one guide is a must-have for everyone who dreams of becoming a doctor.
Careers in Healthcare by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
This title examines 22 branches or fields of study in healthcare and allied health: - Nursing - Dental Hygiene - Nuclear Medicine - Physical Therapy - Radiation Therapy - Speech Pathology - Respiratory Therapy - Athletic Training - Healthcare Information Management In addition, 22 corresponding occupational profiles highlight a particular career within that branch or field. All essays are written by authors with expertise in healthcare or allied health fields.