When you are looking for scholarly articles to use for your paper, consider looking outside typical literature themed databases. If you are looking at LGBTQ issues, then check out some of the LGBTQ databases. Look at the larger subject in your research and start there. Below you will find a list of databases that might be helpful in your rsearch.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Archives Unbound: African American Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African American Studies.
- African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search open access African-published scholarly journals.
- Archives Unbound: African Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African Studies.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new windowCLCD Enterprise PreK-12 database provides access to academic and research resources focusing on Pre K-12 books and media of all types, including reviews from respected publications. Content includes over one million of fiction/non-fiction titles, thousands of awards and quality reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters to find materials for determining interest & reading levels; selecting trade books based on standards; creating thematic, annotated biographies; interpreting reviews; developing classroom collections and more.
- Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more.
- Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
Search the biographies and bibliographies of thousands of U.S. and international authors. Continuously updated.
- Defining Gender (1450-1910) This link opens in a new windowDefining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowAbout 10,000 journals available full-text from open access publishers. Over one million articles are included.
- Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Search periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndexes essays and articles in anthologies and collections, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences. Citations to more than 249,000 essays in collections and anthologies published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain; covers the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film. 1900-1984
- Europa World This link opens in a new windowOnline global resource including political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations.
You do not need to login to access content. - Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Search this database for background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. It also includes a collection of points of view essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
- Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Diverse resource for serious fine arts students.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres.
- Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Search and discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
- Humanities SourceIncludes both Humanities Full Text and Humanities International. Contains over 1400 full text journals with citations to over 3,500,000 articles.
- Iter Bibliography: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to over 1400 core scholarly journals and e-books across most subject areas.
Can be used for course content: Titles from many university presses and other academic publishers. - LGBT Life with Full TextContains full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books. All relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Search the most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes analysis from book excerpts, periodicals, and more.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Search up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras.
- MasterFILE PremierDesigned for public libraries. Full text for about 1700 general interest publications. Coverage is from 1975 for some titles.
- Mental Health & Wellbeing Ebook Collection This link opens in a new windowMental health and wellbeing e-book collection that includes the latest, most relevant psychology research and mental health titles and helps promote student wellbeing and self-care skills.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowContains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Coverage is from about 1920.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies This link opens in a new windowThe field of Medieval Studies explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries. This period, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines, from history to literature, from art to archaeology, from religion to gender studies. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. In addition to the extensive scholarship which already exists, much of the most recent work has moved online so that today’s students and researchers have ready access to primary source texts and a range of other electronic resources.
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies Online offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. - Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Search scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text database of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase for theology and philosophy research that includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)Contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities and social movements from 1600-2000.
Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections. - World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new windowDaily Life World Folklore and Folklife is an invaluable multicultural and multidisciplinary resource that offers an exciting, multimedia gateway to social history and social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, it bridges the gap between past and present.
Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region, or country. Supporting the curriculum in the areas of world cultures, history, arts, literature, and language, this expansive database is the only electronic resource broad enough to provide both folk material and the textual content needed to understand it.
