It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COMP 390: Capstone in English: Home
Finding A Topic
If you are stuck trying to decide on a topic for your paper, there are a few ways to generate ideas.
Contains about 2000 viewpoint articles, 1000 topic overviews, 700 court case overviews, and 30 full text periodicals and newspapers. The Research Guide provides tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
Starting out looking up information on the broader aspects of your topic is a good idea. It is important to understand the larger picture before you start looking at one particular part. To get a broad view, you can check out Reference materials. There are many print and online materials available in the library for your use. Below you will find a list that provides some examples, but it is not exhaustive.
Britannica Academic EditionProvides reference sources in almost all disciplines. Also includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyEmbedded in Literature Resource Center. Most volumes also available in print in the Milne Library reference collection. Online access begins with volume 369.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by Emmanuel S. Nelson (Editor)In this two-volume work, hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts. * Hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries discuss authors, literary works, movements, genres, and social issues * An alphabetical list of entries offers a quick survey of the encyclopedia's contents * A guide to related topics quickly and conveniently directs readers to entries likely to interest them * Bibliographies for specific entries help students find sources of additional information on specialized topics * A selected, general bibliography directs students to the most helpful print and electronic resources on contemporary LGBTQ American literature
Call Number: REF PS153.S39 E53 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Fiction by Brian W. Shaffer (General Editor); David W. Madden (Volume Editor); Justus Nieland (Volume Editor); John Clement Ball (Volume Editor); Patrick O'Donnell (Volume Editor)This Encyclopedia offers an indispensable reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English-language. With nearly 500 contributors and over one million words, it is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference guide to twentieth-century fiction in the English language. Contains over 500 entries of 1000-3000 words written in lucid, jargon-free prose, by an international cast of leading scholars Arranged in three volumes covering British and Irish Fiction, American Fiction, and World Fiction, with each volume edited by a leading scholar in the field Entries cover major writers (such as Saul Bellow, Raymond Chandler, John Steinbeck, Virginia Woolf, A.S. Byatt, Samual Beckett, D.H. Lawrence, Zadie Smith, Salman Rushdie, V.S. Naipaul, Nadine Gordimer, Alice Munro, Chinua Achebe, J.M. Coetzee, and Ng#65533;g#65533; Wa Thiong o) and their key works Examines the genres and sub-genres of fiction in English across the twentieth century (including crime fiction, Sci-Fi, chick lit, the noir novel, and the avant-garde novel) as well as the major movements, debates, and rubrics within the field, such as censorship, globalization, modernist fiction, fiction and the film industry, and the fiction of migration, diaspora, and exile
Call Number: REF PR881 .E48 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
Gale Virtual ReferenceA collection of full text electronic reference books covering many subject areas. Can be searched by keyword, source, subject, image caption, full text, and audience. Individual books can be combined for cross-title searching.
Salem LiteratureReference sources currently available: Critical Insights: Authors, Gabriel García Marquez, Kurt Vonnegut; Critical Insights: Works, House on Mango Street, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Poetry of Poe; Critical Surveys, Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes, Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: Heroes & Heroines; Graphic Novels: Independents & Underground Classics, Love, Sexuality, and Desire; Manga, History, Theme, and Technique; World Mythology.
Locating Print Sources
One way to locate print resources is through the Milne Library Catalog. To access the library catalog, click on the “library catalog” tab on the library’s homepage. You will then use the Call Number to locate the item in the library. If you need help finding the item, please do not hesitate to ask.
The second way is through Worldcat. To access Worldcat, click on the Worldcat tab on the library homepage. Once you have entered your search terms, you can limit your results using the tools located on the left hand side of your results list. If you would like a book that Milne library doesn’t own, you will request it through ILLiad.
***You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.**
Below you will find an example of books that might be helpful for your assignment.
The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature by Edward James (Editor); Farah Mendlesohn (Editor)Fantasy is a creation of the Enlightenment and the recognition that excitement and wonder can be found in imagining impossible things. From the ghost stories of the Gothic to the zombies and vampires of twenty-first-century popular literature, from Mrs Radcliffe to Ms Rowling, the fantastic has been popular with readers. Since Tolkien and his many imitators, however, it has become a major publishing phenomenon. In this volume, critics and authors of fantasy look at the history of fantasy since the Enlightenment, introduce readers to some of the different codes for the reading and understanding of fantasy and examine some of the many varieties and subgenres of fantasy; from magical realism at the more literary end of the genre, to paranormal romance at the more popular end. The book is edited by the same pair who edited The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction (winner of a Hugo Award in 2005).
Call Number: PR149.F35 C36 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-26
Evaporating Genres by Gary K. WolfeIn this wide-ranging series of essays, an award-winning science fiction critic explores how the related genres of science fiction, fantasy, and horror evolve, merge, and finally "evaporate" into new and more dynamic forms. Beginning with a discussion of how literary readers "unlearned" how to read the fantastic during the heyday of realistic fiction, Gary K. Wolfe goes on to show how the fantastic reasserted itself in popular genre literature, and how these genres themselves grew increasingly unstable in terms of both narrative form and the worlds they portray. More detailed discussions of how specific contemporary writers have promoted this evolution are followed by a final essay examining how the competing discourses have led toward an emerging synthesis of critical approaches and vocabularies. The essays cover a vast range of authors and texts, and include substantial discussions of very current fiction published within the last few years. Hardcover is un-jacketed.
Call Number: PN3435 .W65 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-03
Fantasy by Richard MathewsUsing a broad definition of fantasy to include myth, folklore, legend and fairy tale, this survey of the genre will entice as well as inform any student interested in the mysterious, mystical or magical. Beloved authors like J. R. R. Tolkien, Ursula K. Le Guin, William Morris and Robert E. Howard are examined closely.
Call Number: PN56.F34 M38 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-02
The library has a search feature called "Search Everything". This is the default search on the library's homepage. Using this tool can be difficult and overwhelming because it searches nearly everything the library has access to, including items in the physical collection as well as resources in our databases.
To effectively search with this feature, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow down your search results. You can also use the advanced search feature.
If the library does not have access to a particular article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
Librarians are available to help in several ways:
Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library
Call the Research Help Desk at 607-436-2722
E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
You may also e-mail me directly at Sarah.Karas@oneonta.edu
Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches.
Here are six helpful ones to use:
AND - narrows
Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys)
NOT - excludes
Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys)
OR - expands
Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms)
* - expands
Ex: rac* (using the asterisk in replace of an ending on a word will expand your search to include results that have any ending on the base word.)
" " - exact phrase
Ex: "executive functioning" (this pulls up results that are stated in the item exactly as written)
( ) - confine
Ex: (ADHD or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder) AND (boys or guys or males) - (this will instruct the database or search engine on what parts go together in your search phrase
When you are looking for scholarly articles to use for your paper, consider looking outside typical literature themed databases. If you are looking at LGBTQ issues, then check out some of the LGBTQ databases. Look at the larger subject in your research and start there. Below you will find a list of databases that might be helpful in your rsearch.
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Access to relevant information about Pre K-12 books and media of all types, including reviews from respected publications. Includes thousands of books that have been recognized as having particular merit such as Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King Awards. Coverage is from 1993 to the present.
Covers about 3,000 authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959. Offers full-text or excerpted criticism from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Online access from volume 325.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
Indexes essays and articles in anthologies and collections, emphasizing the humanities and social sciences. Citations to more than 249,000 essays in collections and anthologies published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain; covers the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film. 1900-1984
Includes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
Contains full text for more than 130 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text monographs/books. All relevant bibliographic data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies is also included.
Contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text. Coverage is from about 1920.
Full text of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Can be used for course content: Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall. Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Cross-platform search for literature resources, including coverage of authors, literary works and movements, book reviews, and more. Includes Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, and Gale Literature: LitFinder.
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife is an invaluable multicultural and multidisciplinary resource that offers an exciting, multimedia gateway to social history and social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, it bridges the gap between past and present. Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region, or country. Supporting the curriculum in the areas of world cultures, history, arts, literature, and language, this expansive database is the only electronic resource broad enough to provide both folk material and the textual content needed to understand it.