Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comp 100: Composition (Doughty)

Pick A Topic

If you are stuck trying to decide on a topic for your paper, there are a few ways to generate ideas. 

  1. Scan newspaper headlines 
  2. Browse chapter titles in your textbook
  3. Check out what's trending 
  4. Use the "Browse Issues" section in the Opposing Viewpoints Database

Background Knowledge

When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. 

A great way to gather background information is through searching reference materials. Reference materials such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. The library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and online through particular databases. 

Below you will find a list of Reference titles and databases that may be helpful in your research. This list is not exhaustive, but it is an example of the types of materials available. 

Locating Online Resources - Databases

Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., gender studies, history, etc.). 

Below you will find a list of databases that will be helpful for your current assignment. It is not an exhaustive list, but it is a good place to start. 

Best Bet Databases for your assignment!

Additional Databases!

Database Searching Tutorial

Searching databases may be new to you. While the content in databases will differ, some of them are owned by the same company. This fact means that the searching platform will look the same across multiple databases. Below is a video tutorial on how to search an EBSCO database called Academic Search Complete. 

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

One way to locate print resources is through the Milne Library Catalog. To access the library catalog, click on the “library catalog” tab on the library’s homepage. You will need to remote checkout the book. 

The second way is through Worldcat. To access Worldcat, click on the Databases link in the left hand side menu. Then click on the W. Then scroll down until you see “Worldcat (OCLC First Search Legacy Interface). By searching through Worldcat, you have the ability to see books that Milne Library and other libraries worldwide own. If you would like a book that Milne library doesn’t own, you will request it through ILLiad.

***You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.***

Below are a few titles that may be helpful for your research. 

How to Use Remote Checkout