Special Collections Blog: Blog Submission Guidelines

James M. Milne Library

Special Collections Blog Guidelines

 

Blog Mission

The mission of the James M. Milne Library’s Special Collections Blog is to promote events, activities, and collections of the Alden Room and Special Collections to the SUNY Oneonta community and visitors to the library’s website. It aims to increase interest in materials in the Special Collections.

 

Targeted Audience

SUNY Oneonta students, alumni, the academic community, and public visitors to the James M. Milne Library homepage.

 

Policies, Guidelines, and Procedures

Blog Managers

The blog will be managed by a member of the Special Collections Committee. Submissions will be reviewed and approved by the Blog Manager prior to posting.

Bloggers

Bloggers must be affiliated with the SUNY Oneonta community (students, faculty, staff, etc.), or be an invited guest by the Blog Manager.

Content

The content of submissions should fall into one of the following categories:

• Special Collections Event Promotion
• Special Collections Event Reflection
• Projects (i.e., digitization) happening with the Special Collections
• Informative articles about item(s) in the Special Collections
• Informative articles about a topic that involves item(s) from the Special Collections
• Experience using Special Collections for research
• Fun Facts about the Special Collections/Alden Room

Topics outside of the previous categories will need to be approved by the Blog Manager to ensure they meet the missions of the blog.

The Blog Manager reserves the right to reject submissions that do not conform to the submission guidelines or the mission of the blog.

Acceptable Use

Bloggers are required to check facts, spelling and grammar errors, and properly cite sources. Citation style preferred is MLA. Images, videos, and other materials used in posts should not violate copyright.

Format

Blog posts should follow the following format:

• Should be approximately (but not limited to) 400-750 words
• Must reference an item, event, or project related to SUNY Oneonta’s Special Collections
• Information used from course papers must be adapted to fit a blog type writing style
• Materials used must not infringe on copyright
• Should not be used for commercial promotions
• Should not include inappropriate language or imagery
• Should not include defamatory language or imagery
• Must include a title
• Should contain unique content not seen in previous posts

Submissions

Submissions must be sent to Sarah Rhodes (sarah.rhodes@oneonta.edu) or Heather Stalter (Heather.Stalter@oneonta.edu). All submissions must include the following information:

• Blogger’s Name
• Status (Student with year, Faculty, etc.)
• Contact Information (Used for communication purposes and will not appear on the blog)
• Contents of the posts (File formats accepted are Word Documents)
• Files of any images to be used (File formats accepted are JPG or PNG)

Copyright

James M. Milne Library reserves the copyright content of the blog and reserves the right to repost or republish all or portions of the blog posts on other college social media accounts or publications at any time.