Reference and Instruction Librarian
Library Help
Welcome
Hello and Welcome! This research guide provides users with helpful tips about the research process and research tools. Included is information about subject-specific databases, journals, and research tips. This guide has been created to gather helpful resources to point users toward places to explore and find materials in the discipline. Any questions can be emailed to alayna.vanderveer@oneonta.edu or asked at the reference desk.
This guide was created by Alayna L. Vander Veer, reference and instruction librarian.
Choosing a Topic
If you have no idea what to write about, there are a few places to go for topic ideas.
- Scan news headlines or digests
- You have free access to these newspapers through Milne Library, but you need to create an account
- The New York Times https://libguides.oneonta.edu/new-york-times
- The Wall Street Journal https://www.WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta
- You have free access to these newspapers through Milne Library, but you need to create an account
- Browse topics in an encyclopedia
- Check out CQ Researcher, a database that can help you find research topics or explore trending topics https://cqpress.sagepub.com/
- Use the “Browse Issues” section in the Opposing Viewpoints in Context Database https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=OVIC&u=sunyo_main
- Go to Credo Reference and browse subjects https://search.credoreference.com/
- Scan chapters or sections in your textbooks to find appropriate topics
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowContains a variety of media rich content, including over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues. National Debate Topics category provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Educator Resources include a research toolkit with tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
- CREDO Reference This link opens in a new windowCREDO is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
- CQ Researcher (1923-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text. Five simultaneous users.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowAll students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta