Finding Sources in the Library Databases
The following databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable the same way that Milne Search is. If you need help searching any of these databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library!
Note: Be careful with what types of sources you are citing, as these resources may include primary, secondary, and tertiary sources. When in doubt, as your professor if the source is appropriate for your project!
Philosophy Specific Databases
-
Philosopher's IndexProvides indexing and author-written abstracts for about 680 scholarly international philosophy journals. Also offers coverage of anthologies and book reviews. Includes journals from about 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages. Coverage is from 1940 to the present. Links to some full-text.
-
Religion & Philosophy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search and discover the impact of religion on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily.
-
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowDatabase for theology and philosophy research that includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Environment and Sustainability Databases
-
Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. Coverage of coal, electric power, natural gas, hydrofracking, nuclear power, petroleum, and renewable energy (hydroelectric, wind, solar, alternative fuels, etc.)
-
Environmental Studies & Policy (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database contains indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records related to the impact of humans on the environment from about 1915 to the present. Some full-text.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
General Databases
-
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database provide full-text access to thousands of academic journals, e-books, and images across most subject areas.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text access to hundreds of journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly journals.
Encyclopedias
-
Britannica Academic (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an online searchable reference collection of over 690 sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and almanacs, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers in context. Reference sources also include images, sound files, animations, charts, maps, and other materials.
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Search the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography.