Possible Keywords
When preparing for the library class, I did a little research on some of your topics and came across some keywords and/or synonyms that could help with researching your topics within the library resources. For more information on Boolean search logic, please navigate to the "Finding a Peer-Reviewed Article in Milne Search." Please see below for some possible keywords and/or search strings for your topics.
- "cultural belonging" OR culture OR "cultural landscape"
- "coffee identity" OR "coffee farming tradition" OR "coffee farming populations"
- "coffee growing" OR "coffee farming" OR "coffee production"
- "coffee supply chain"
- ethnobotany
If you are struggling to find other keywords for your topics, I might recommend doing a Google search to see what other terms may arise through preliminary background research on your topics. While these sources may not meet your assignment parameters, they can be helpful to identify keywords that you can then use within the library catalog or databases to find scholarly sources on your topic.
Always remember, your library is here for you! Do not hesitate to reach out and ask us for help on finding sources for your upcoming assignments, through either scheduling a research consultation, chatting with the library, calling the Reference Desk, or coming into the library anytime between (7:30-4:30 M-F).
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in the Library Databases
The following databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable the same way that the Library Catalog is. If you need help searching any of these databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library!
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
-
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 1700 journals, 550 books, and selected education-related conference papers. Covers elementary education, special education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, and teaching methods. Encompasses all content from Education Research Complete.
-
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Key indexing database for education and the social sciences with citations and abstracts for hundreds of education publications. Some full-text access. Coverage is from about 1966 to the present.
-
Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers Spanish- and Portuguese-language academic content for researchers studying a broad range of disciplines. The extensive collection of scholarly journals and quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain are readily available in PDF format.
-
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
-
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
-
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine
Search academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides about 550 scholarly full text medical/nursing journals. Also includes 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets. Coverage is from about 1952 to the present.
-
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Index of thousands of journal article citations concerning Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. Does not provide full text access to all content.
-
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextAn indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Offers about 170 full-text journals and 360 full-text books and monographs. Coverage is from about 1905 to the present.
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
-
Music Index
Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Coverage is from about 1970.
-
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972 High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full-text for over 850 journals as well as abstracts for about 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this database provides indexing from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals and about 2,000 "selective" coverage journals. Contains extensive indexing for books/monographs (with about 850 available full-text), conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources. Also includes searchable cited references.
Finding Academic Videos in Milne Library Resources
The following online resources may hold documentaries or academic videos that you could use in working on your research. When in doubt as to what type of resources you can use for an assignment, refer to your assignment parameters, or ask your professor!
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of streaming video, covering history, anthropology, education, art, diversity studies, business, music, literature, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, world languages and more.
-
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
A subset of VAST Academic Video Online. Provides about five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Database contains thousands of full-length programs and streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Stream a diverse collection of films and documentaries, including classic cinema, educational series, and international titles.
Finding Information on the SDGs
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
-
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database contains indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records related to the impact of humans on the environment from about 1915 to the present. Some full-text.
-
University Press Library Open
Search online collection of open access (free-to-read) academic e-books, including titles relevant to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).