Research and Course Guides: DRGN 1000: Red Dragon Seminar (Montoya) Spring 2025: Background Research

Finding Background Research

It can sometimes be helpful to start brainstorming and researching your topic within background resources, including encyclopedias or news sources. Here are a few resource, available to you through the Milne Library, that could help with finding background research on your topic.

Online Resources

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo is an online searchable reference collection of over 690 sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and almanacs, powered by a network of cross-references that cut across topics, titles and publishers to provide answers in context. Reference sources also include images, sound files, animations, charts, maps, and other materials.
Europa World This link opens in a new window
Online global resource including political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations.
You do not need to login to access content.
The Europa World Year Book was first published in 1926 and, together with the nine Regional Surveys of the World, is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Search and discover overviews, news, and opinions on hundreds of today's important social issues.

News Sources

New York Times This link opens in a new window
All students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
Once activated, a faculty/staff pass is valid for 1460 days. A student pass is valid up to the graduation year they enter when they sign up for a pass. After the pass expires, faculty and staff can easily renew their access by re-entering their email address at http://accessnyt.com.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Offers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta