Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles in the Milne Library
Follow these step-by-step instructions to search for peer-reviewed articles available to you through the Milne Library.
- Navigate to the James M. Milne Library Homepage (https://libguides.oneonta.edu/home).
- Select the "Advanced Search" Tab, then select "Milne Search" which will produce results in the Milne Library holdings, as well as databases we have access to, and open access materials from the web.
- Use Boolean search logic to search the Library Catalog for resources on your topic.
- Note: Separate your search topics in different lines and use the AND OR NOT operators to combine your search terms. Please see the below box for additional information on Boolean operators.
- Select "Articles" as Material Type, then select the date range that is applicable to your class assignment, and then select the "Search" button.
- Sign-In to the Library by selecting the yellow "Sign-in" box, to show you the entire results list available to you.
- Once you see your results list:
- If you only want to see peer-reviewed journals, select "Peer-Review" and then "Apply Filters" in the 'Refine your Results' menu.
Note: If you are not able to find a source you are looking for, try adding a broader search term. If you have too many results, try adding some more specific search terms. Always remember, your library is here for you, and we can help you find sources for your assignments, reach out to us and ask for help!
Finding Scholarly Works in Library Databases
The following databases all look slightly different but at their core are searchable the same way that the Library Catalog is. If you need help searching any of these databases, please do not hesitate to contact your library!
Note: The following databases could hold a variety of different types of sources, be mindful to what types of sources you are being asked to use for this specific assignment!
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of peer-reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers over 100 years of research.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.