Background Information
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Search reference sources across disciplines. Includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Newspapers
-
Newspaper Source Plus
Includes over 850 full-text U.S. and international newspapers as well as over 800,000 television and radio news transcripts.
-
NYS Historic Newspapers
Search the NYS Historic Newspapers project, which provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Use the Search Tab to search the entire collection, or click on a county to search or browse geographically.
Other Helpful databases
-
American Indian Histories & Cultures This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
-
History Commons This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of historical American newspapers, books, and journals, covering American History, African American Studies, Women’s History, the Civil War, and Genealogy. Formerly known as Accessible Archives, this database provides vast quantities of primary source materials reflecting broad views across 18th and 19th-century America.