SOC 2410: Sociology of Popular Culture (Lowe) Fall 2024 2410-01

Use the Databases tab at the top of the Milne Library website to locate the A-Z list.  You can locate particular databases alphabetically by title, if you know the name of the database, for example, New York Times Digital.  You can also type the title of the database in the search box Database Title/Keyword.  When you enter Newspapers, however, as a keyword, your results will include those databases where the title begins with, or includes, the word Newspaper. 

** Note that there are additional newspaper databases that are not listed in the results because they do not include the word Newspaper in the title, for example, The Times Digital (London), Wall Street Journal. These databases are, however, in the database list alphabetically by title.  Selected databases include newspapers in addition to other types of resources, for example, Nexis Uni, which includes many newspapers across the world.

Selected Newspaper Databases

Locate the following by title in the alphabetical A-Z list

New York Times Digital (Subscription needs to be activated. See library FAQs)

Newspaper Source Plus (includes many news sources in full text from across the world)

Nexis Uni (Includes many news sources in full text from across the world)

Wall Street Journal (Subscription needs to be activated.  See library FAQs)

Search Tips

• Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms.

Example:   trend* searches for trend(s), trending

• Use the question mark to represent more than one letter in a word, especially for words that do not form their plural form by adding “s” or “es.”

Example:  wom?n searches for women and woman

• Use quotation marks to search words as a phrase rather than as single words.

Example:  “hip hop”