COMM 1100: Introduction to Communication

Follow these step-by-step instructions to search for print books currently available in the Milne Library.

1. Navigate to the James M. Milne Library Homepage (https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library).
2. Select the "Advanced Search" Tab, then select "Library Catalog" which will produce results of books in the Milne Library holdings, including the Children's Collection, Educational Materials Collection, Young Adult Collection, Course Reserves, NY State Collection, Reference Collection, and the Special Collections. 
3. Use Boolean search logic to search the Library Catalog for print resources on your topic. 
   • Note: Separate your search topics in different lines and use the AND OR NOT operators to combine your search terms. Please see the below box for additional information on Boolean operators. 
4. Select Books as Material Type, then select the date range that is applicable to your class assignment, and then select the "Search" button. 
5. Sign-In to the Library by selecting the yellow "Sign-in" box, to show you the entire results list available to you.
6. Once you see your results list:
   • If you only want to see print books that are currently held in the library (i.e.: physical books that are not already checked out), select "Held by Library," and then "Apply Filters" in the 'Refine your Results' menu.
   • If you are able to use online books (eBooks) for your assignment, select "Available Online," and then "Apply Filters" in the 'Refine your Results' menu.

Note: If you are not able to find a book you are looking for, try adding a broader search term. If you have too many results, try adding some more specific search terms. Always remember, your library is here for you, and we can help you find books for your assignments, reach out to us and ask for help!

Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches. 

Here are six helpful ones to use: 

1. AND - narrows 
   1. Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys) 
2. NOT - excludes
   1. Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys) 
3. OR - expands
   1. Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms) 
4. * - expands 
   1. Ex: rac*  (using the asterisk in replace of an ending on a word will expand your search to include results that have any ending on the base word.)
5. " " - exact phrase
   1. Ex: "executive functioning" (this pulls up results that are stated in the item exactly as written) 
6. ( ) - confine
   1. Ex: (ADHD or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder) AND (boys or guys or males)     - (this will instruct the database or search engine on what parts go together in your search phrase

Call numbers are the stickers the spines of books which identify the address for the book. This address tells you what collection the book is available in, and in turn what floor to find the book on. For example, the call number T14 .O57 2007, identifies:

• Book is located in the Library of Congress Subject Heading T (Technology), which is located in the Sub-basement floor of the Library,
• Book was published in 2007.

Note: Here is a document created by your Milne Librarians that explains in further detail how to understand a call number. 

To locate the book you are looking for, use the Library Floor Plans resource on the Self Guided Library Tour tab, or use the blue Library Floor Plans brochure given to you in class.