Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals
For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Narrative. An example of a popular magazine is National Geographic.
Access the following databases by clicking on the Databases link on the left side of the library website and locating the database name in the alphabetical list.
Databases Covering Literature
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Contains articles/essays of literary criticism, biographies, and topic and work overviews. Integrated search for Gale Literature Criticism Online, Gale Literature Resource Center, and LitFinder. - Humanities SourceProvides selected full text for journals in the humanities, including literature.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowIndexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and journals in literature, with selected full text. This source is an important tool for research in modern languages and literature. Because dissertations can be difficult to borrow, however, exclude this source from your search.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including Literature
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Many articles are available in full text. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for approximately 8,500 selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across disciplines, including literature. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas, including literature. There is no coverage for the last 3-5 years.
- Philosopher's IndexCitation index to journal articles in philosophy.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of over 100 scholarly journals and books in the social sciences and humanities. Serves as a complement to JSTOR.
- World Folklore & Folklife This link opens in a new windowCovers the origins and development of worldwide cultural traditions.
Databases Covering Women’s and Gender Studies
- Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of many popular and scholarly sources in gender studies. - GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides the full text of journals, newsletters, and research reports on studies of women and gender.