Research and Course Guides: EDUC 2046: Library Resources

K-12 Content Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Search Elementary, Middle and High databases, containing articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, and recommended web sites.
World Book Online - Kids & Advanced This link opens in a new window
KIDS (grades K+) strengthens teaching skills for future educators. Students in educational programs can incorporate this database into their lesson plans as a way to teach research, integrate technology and meet the common core standards.

ADVANCED (grades 9+) includes encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, Back in Time articles, special reports and more, which enable more in-depth and conceptual understanding within the classroom curriculum.

TIMELINES (grades 5+) offers hundreds of pre-generated timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.

General Databases

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of streaming video, covering history, anthropology, education, art, diversity studies, business, music, literature, performing arts, psychology, counseling, science, world languages and more.
Can be used for course content.
Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Highlights include:
The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America.
The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward.
The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II.
The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967.
Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historical speeches and events.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) This link opens in a new window
Discover 44,463,845 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ is a digital streaming platform that provides access to over 400 productions, including dramatic texts, poetry, and performance.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Contains about 8000 full-length programs and 90,000 streaming video segments in the humanities, social sciences, business, economics, medicine, mathematics, and sciences from producers including Cambridge Educational, BBC, CNBC, National Geographic, TEDTalks, and PBS. For additional videos, see VAST (Academic Videos Online).
Can be used for course content: Streaming video collections.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform for public and academic libraries that offers films, TV shows and documentaries.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Maps of New York: Paul Baumann Archive
260 maps --USGS (United States Geological Survey) 15 Minute Quadrangle series of New York State. Over the years many of the maps in this series have deteriorated due to usage and time and other maps have just disappeared. These maps were produced between 1895 and 1955 and predate the current 7 ½ Minute Quadrangle series. They represent a great geographical and historical resource for understanding the nature of the state and its many communities. Open access