Locating Online Resources - Databases
Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., gender studies, history, etc.).
Below you will find a list of databases that will be helpful for your current assignment. It is not an exhaustive list, but it is a good place to start.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 750 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health sciences with coverage back to 1937. Some full text articles are included.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 1700 journals, 550 books, and selected education-related conference papers. Covers elementary education, special education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, and teaching methods. Encompasses all content from Education Research Complete.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for over 1000 education publications. Offers over 300,000 full-text documents. Coverage is from about 1966 to the present.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Search and discover general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
- MasterFILE PremierDesigned for public libraries. Full text for about 1700 general interest publications. Coverage is from 1975 for some titles.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Provides full text information on standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Database includes full-text access to hundreds of journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly journals.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowProvides access to articles from the 100+ peer-reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) from 1894 to the present. Links to full-text articles in other databases.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionA comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in fields of psychology, psychiatry, social work and related disciplines from 1887 to the present. Partial full-text / links to articles in other databases.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.