Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) in print and online form are valuable sources of
information. Free photocopying of entries in print reference books is available at the Reference Desk.
Reference sources generally include:
Print and Electronic Reference Books (Listed in Library Catalog)
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability Ref GE 140 B47 2010
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science Vol. 7 Environmental e-book
Economics
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Ref GE 42 E533 2008 and e-book
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History Ref GF 10 E63 2004
Environmental Encyclopedia e-book
Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia Ref H41 G46 2013
Oxford World History of Empire Ref JC 359 O939 2021
World Environmental History Ref GF 10 E63 2004
Online Reference Databases
Britannica Academic Under Databases on library website
Standard reference source for information across the disciplines. Includes links to additional material in periodical articles and books, including primary sources.
Cambridge Histories Online Under Databases on library website
This database includes the complete text of over 350 scholarly titles in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library’s online catalog.
Credo Reference Under Databases on library website
Provides background information from many general and subject encyclopedias.
Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) Under Databases on library website
A collection of full-text books, including reference books, covering many subjects.
Sage Knowledge Online Under Databases on library website
Selected full text of reference sources across the disciplines.