For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Narrative. An example of a popular magazine is National Geographic.
Access the following databases by clicking on the Databases link on the left side of the library website and locating the database name in the alphabetical list.
Databases Covering Literature
Gale Literature
Contains articles/essays of literary criticism, biographies, and topic and work overviews. Integrated search for Gale Literature Criticism Online, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Humanities Source
Provides selected full text for journals in the humanities, including literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and journals in literature, with selected full text. This source is an important tool for research in modern languages and literature.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including Literature
Academic OneFile
Indexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 54,000,000 articles are available, many with some full text.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for approximately 8,500 selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines, including literature.
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas, including literature. There is no coverage for the last 3-5 years.
Project Muse
Provides full text of over 100 scholarly journals and books in the social sciences and humanities.
Databases Covering Women’s Gender, LGBT Studies
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Includes full text of popular & scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.
GenderWatch
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters, and research reports on studies of women and gender.
LGBT life with Full Text
Contains full text of LGBT journals, magazines, and regional newspapers in addition to a selection of full-text monographs/books.