Databases to Find Peer-Reviewed Articles
Library databases provide access to articles and other information; sometimes the full text is available but sometimes only the abstract and citation information are available (in which case you can request the item through interlibrary loan). Databases can include access to peer-reviewed articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, etc. Some are specialized by topic, and some are interdisciplinary. Milne Library subscribes to hundreds of databases. Those listed below are a good start for your work in this class:
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text for about 1450 publications. Coverage is from about 1800 to the present, with some full-text from about 1935 to the present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
Video Tutorial
The following video on Academic Search Complete (a database that covers a broad range of topics) will provide excellent strategies that you can utilize with other databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.