Research and Course Guides: COMP 3037: Writing Fantasy and SF: Finding Articles

Below you will find a list of journals or magazines that may be helpful.

Below you will find a list of databases that may be helpful to take a look at.

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals related to technology, applied science, and computer science. Full-text is available for about 1200 journals. Coverage is from 1912 to the present.
Gun Regulation & Legislation in America
HeinOnline’s Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States. This resource is free for U.S. academics and other institutional libraries. We encourage you to add this database to your list of available resources in order to share its availability with all library patrons. Provided by SUNY Connect.
Nature: international weekly journal of science
One of the world's most important scientific journals. Full text coverage is from 2006-present.
Victorian Popular Culture
Despite the name, Victorian Popular Culture provides access to a wide range of primary source material related to popular entertainment in America and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930.
World Folklore & Folklife This link opens in a new window
Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife is an invaluable multicultural and multidisciplinary resource that offers an exciting, multimedia gateway to social history and social studies. Tracing the origins and development of all aspects of traditional cultures around the world, it bridges the gap between past and present.
Can be used for course content: Excellent primary source collections.

Daily Life World Folklore and Folklife allows users to research topics from scary stories to gender roles with ease. Thousands of folktales have been specially indexed to be searchable by subject and tale type, region, or country. Supporting the curriculum in the areas of world cultures, history, arts, literature, and language, this expansive database is the only electronic resource broad enough to provide both folk material and the textual content needed to understand it.

Below you will find a list of helpful websites to take a look at.

The Conversation
The Conversation is a nonprofit, independent news organization dedicated to unlocking the knowledge of experts for the public good. We publish trustworthy and informative articles written by academic experts for the general public and edited by our team of journalists.

On this website (and through distribution of our articles to thousands of news outlets worldwide), you’ll find explanatory journalism on the events, discoveries and issues that matter today. Our articles share researchers’ expertise in policy, science, health, economics, education, history, ethics and most every subject studied in colleges and universities. Some articles offer practical advice grounded in research, while others simply provide authoritative answers to questions that sparked our curiosity.
The Internet Speculative Fiction Database
The ISFDB is a community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. It links together various types of bibliographic data: author bibliographies, publication bibliographies, award listings, magazine content listings, anthology and collection content listings, and forthcoming books.
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database is a freely available online resource designed to help students and researchers locate secondary sources for the study of the science fiction and fantasy and associated genres. These include: historical material; books; articles; news reports; interviews; film reviews; commentary; and fan writing. The database was originally compiled by Hal W. Hall, a librarian at Texas A & M University, and draws and expands upon the Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Indexes of 1878-1985; 1985-1991; and 1992-1995. Full text is not included in the database, but you can search the Milne Library's Search function to see if we have access to it!
Science News
Science News is published by the Society for Science, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to expanding scientific literacy, effective STEM education and scientific research through its award-winning publications and world-class science education competitions.
Sur La Lune Fairytales
SurLaLune Fairy Tales features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations and illustrations.