For academic research, it is often important to use peer reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. Book reviews, although helpful for finding book titles, do not count as scholarly articles. Book reviews offer descriptions and evaluations of books.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site alphabetically by title under the tab Databases. Databases are categorized under Browse by Discipline.
History
America: History & Life
Covers the scholarly literature about Canadian and U.S. history.
Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
Selected and critical reviews of recent historical books, journals and articles covering all periods of history.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Indexes the scholarly literature on British & Irish history.
Gale World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
Includes primary and secondary sources.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Covers content of scholarly journals published on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970. Many articles are in Spanish.
Historical Abstracts
Covers scholarly literature on world history between 1450 and the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Gender Studies
GenderWatch
Selected full text of publications that cover women's and gender issues.
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Complements coverage of GenderWatch.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
Academic OneFile
Indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals across the disciplines from 1980 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Complements coverage of Academic OneFile.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Provides full text of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
JSTOR archive
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas, but excludes full-text coverage for the last 3-5 years.
Periodicals Archive Online
Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.