For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Past and Present. An example of a popular magazine is People.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site in the alphabetical list under Databases.
Databases Covering History
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers the scholarly literature of British and Irish history.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes bibliographic literature covering world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
Academic OneFile
Indexes scholarly journals and popular magazines covering most academic subject areas with some full text available.
Academic Search Complete
Provides selected full text for scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Humanities Source
Provides selected full text for journals in the humanities, including history.
JSTOR Archive
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas. There is no coverage for the last 3-5 years. Includes 19th-century British Pamphlets (a collection of primary sources).
Periodicals Archive Online
Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
Databases Covering Gender Studies
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Includes selected full text of popular and scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.
GenderWatch
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.