Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find the style guide and other resources for APA by visiting the link below.
Librarian
Choosing a Company
Your company must be a domestic, publicly traded company. To find out if it is public, there are a few strategies you can use:
- A quick Google search may turn up the company website and additional information. See if the company website has an 'Investor Relations' section - this means it is public.
- Look the company up in EDGAR from the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC).
- Find the stock ticker on Yahoo! Finance - a stock ticker means it is public.
Finding Company Information
It is important to try to find company profiles and reports that have been published within the past two years. Tables of contents can help you find specific company information. It is also important to check multiple sources as some will fill in gaps other sources do not cover.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive business resource which provides access to periodical and newspaper articles, information about domestic and international companies, investment reports, brands, industry and company rankings, corporate histories. Coverage includes public and private companies. A good source for company histories and chronologies. Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary loan can be helpful if you are looking for resources the library does not currently own. This is a service free of charge to all SUNY Oneonta students and faculty. Digital documents, such as PDFs, can be delivered in as little as a couple of hours whereas physical items, such as books, can take anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of weeks, depending on availability. It is a good idea not to wait until the last minute to do your research in case you need to use ILL.
- Interlibrary LoanILL Login - Use your SUCO User ID and password