Welcome
This research guides provides a basic introduction to research materials in the field of law available at Milne Library. Questions may be directed to michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu.
This guide was created by Michelle Hendley.
Secondary vs. primary sources of law
Secondary legal sources discuss, explain, critique, and analyze the law. Secondary resources include encyclopedias, digests, books, and law journals. They are a good place to begin legal research. Primary legal sources are established law. Primary legal resources include statutes (laws enacted by a legislature) and judicial decisions (cases).
How to read a case citation
An example of a legal citation to a case is Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, 347 U.S. 483
Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka refers to the party names.
347 refers to the volume number of the court report.
U.S. refers to the abbreviated name of the court reporter title in which the case is published.
483 refers to the page number of the case.
Finding court cases, law journal articles, and legislation in Nexis Uni
Contains several United States and international legal sources. These include a legal dictionary and legal encyclopedia. For example, American Jurisprudence 2d is an encyclopedic text of both procedural and substantive American law, state, federal, criminal, civil and procedural. Consisting of over 430 topic headings (titles), Am Jur 2d articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law and, at the same time, provide direct leads to supporting cases, related annotations, forms, proofs, and trial techniques (note: Nexis Uni is no longer updating this resource). Nexis Uni also contains federal and state cases; Canadian, European Union, Australian, Hong Kong and other nations’ cases; US federal and state statutes and regulations; US law reviews; and US landmark cases. In addition, The Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary Desk Edition contains over definitions to over 11,200 legal words and phrases.
Finding federal and state court cases in Nexis Uni
- Go to Guided Search.
- Under the heading “What are you interested in?” click on Cases.
- Go to “Which Jurisdiction?” and select either Federal Cases or States Cases. If you select State Cases, you will be prompted to enter a state in the box below.
- Enter search terms.
- Specify dates if applicable.
- Click on Search.
- Your results will be displayed.
- Results may be narrowed by a range of options including timeline, sources, court, practice areas & topics, most cited or keyword.
Finding law journal articles in Nexis Uni
- Go to Guided Search.
- Under the heading What are you interested in? click on Law Reviews.
- Enter search terms in the box under the heading, Search in all Law Reviews for
- Specify dates if applicable.
- Click on Search.
- Your results will be displayed.
- Results may be narrowed by a range of options including timeline, jurisdiction, sources, or practice areas & topics.
Finding U.S. federal and state legislation in Nexis Uni
- Go to the Nexis Uni home page.
- Change the drop down menu on the right hand side of the page from All Content Types to Legal.
- Under the heading Legislation, select US.
- For federal legislation, select the box next to Federal
- For state or territory legislation, select appropriate state or territory.
- Specify dates if applicable.
- Enter search terms.
- Click on the magnifying glass.
- Your results will be displayed.
- Results may be narrowed by a range of options including timeline, jurisdiction, sources, or practice areas & topics.
Finding Supreme Court cases and law journals in Hein Online
HeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Can be used for course content: Law review articles and much more; permanent links.
Finding Supreme Court Cases in Hein Online
- Click on the All Databases tab located in the upper left-hand corner of the website.
- Scroll down and select U.S. Supreme Court Library.
- Click on Advanced Search.
- Enter search terms. The database may be searched using keywords or case name.
- Go to Select Document Type and choose Official Reports.
- Click on Search.
- Your results will be displayed.
- Results may be refined by a range of options including date, document type or title.
Finding Law Journals in Hein Online
- Click on the All Databases tab located in the upper left-hand corner of the website.
- Select Law Journal Library.
- Click on Advanced Search.
- Enter search terms.
- Go to Section Types to Search? and limit to Articles.
- Click on Search.
- Your results will be displayed.
- Results may be refined by a range of options including date, topic, location, state published, or country published.
Finding print encyclopedias, digests and court reporters
(Note: The library ceased subscribing to updates of these resources in 2021)
Legal Encyclopedias and Digests
Corpus Juris Secundum
This encyclopedia provides summaries of legal topics and citations to case law and statutes.
Call Number: REF KF154 .C6- Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers’ Edition
The Digest provides citations to Supreme Court cases reported in United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition.
Call Number: REF KF 101 A167
- New York Jurisprudence 2d
This encyclopedia provides citations to New York State law.
Call Number: KFN 5065 N482
Print Court Reporters
- United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers Edition
Reports Supreme Court decisions.
- West's New York Supplement 3rd Series
Reports decisions of the New York Court of Appeals, the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court and opinions from lower courts in New York.
Finding print reference books
American Justice (Ready Reference) by
This three-volume set begins its examination of the American Justice system on a broad scope. Then, following cross-references appearing at the end of the articles readers can turn to specific areas and/or cases.
Call Number: REF KF 156 A44 1996ISBN: 9780893567613Publication Date: 1996-12-01
American Public School Law by
Alexander and Alexander's best-selling AMERICAN PUBLIC SCHOOL LAW sets the standard for books in educational law, an increasingly vital area of expertise for today's school and district administrators. Now in its Eighth Edition, this combined textbook/casebook provides an authoritative and comprehensive view of the law that governs the public school system of the United States, including common law, statutes, and constitutional laws as they affect students, teachers, and administrators. Featuring civil and criminal cases selected from hundreds of jurisdictions and newly updated to reflect the latest legal trends and precedents, the book reviews key laws and relevant court decisions. The case method offers ample opportunity for discussions aimed at discovering and exposing the underlying rules and reasoning, and the text actively encourages readers to relate factual situations to the law while anticipating similar experiences they may have as practicing teachers and administrators. Written in an engaging and accessible style, AMERICAN PUBLIC SCHOOL LAW, Eighth Edition, explains even complex points of law clearly and effectively for non-lawyers, and the authors maintain a diligent focus on the unique needs of professional educators preparing for successful careers in administration.
Call Number: REF KF4119 A758 2012ISBN: 9780495910497Publication Date: 2011-01-01
A Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education by Call Number: REF KF 4114 Z57 2001ISBN: 9780873678353Publication Date: 2001-11-01
Black's Law Dictionary 11th Edition by Call Number: REF KF 156 B53 2014ISBN: 9781539229759Publication Date: 2019-07-01
Constitution of the United States of America by Call Number: REF KF4527 U54 2013ISBN: 9780160917356Publication Date: 2014-02-27- Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations Used in American Law Books by
This sourcebook defines over sixteen thousand domestic and international abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols used in contemporary legal literature for the law student or legal researcher.
Call Number: REF KF 246 B46ISBN: 9780930342616Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Encyclopedia of American Law by
There's an old saying: Ignorance of the law is no excuse for breaking it. Yet for most people, the law is often an inaccessible doorway through which many fear to enter. Filling the need for an accessible reference that combs the entire American legal system, the Encyclopedia of American Law assembles in one comprehensive volume a collection of issues, terms, concepts, court cases, history, and people to provide all citizens with a clear overview of the major points of American law. The only general reference volume available on the subject, the Encyclopedia of American Law demystifies our judicial system, making the law comprehensible to all laypeople. This broad reference work is of interest to specialists seeking a richer appreciation for their craft as well as people of all ages and races wanting to acquire a thorough understanding of their constitutional rights.
Call Number: REF KF 154 E528 2002ISBN: 9780816043293Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Encyclopedia of Education Law by
CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009"A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts."-Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY"Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook."- BooklistThe Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following:Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviewsConstitutional issuesKey concepts, theories, and legal principlesKey statutesTreaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights)Curricular issuesEducational equityGovernanceRights of students and teachersTechnologyBiographiesOrganizationsIn addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.
Call Number: REF KF 4117 E53 2008ISBN: 9781412940795Publication Date: 2008-06-27
Essential Supreme Court Decisions by
First published in 1954, this indispensable reference quickly became the gold standard for concise summaries of important U.S. Supreme Court cases. Updated through the end of the 2008 term, the 15th edition is an essential resource for students, lawyers, and everyone interested in our nation's Constitution.
Call Number: REF KF 4547.4 V55 2010ISBN: 9781442203846Publication Date: 2010-07-16- Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by Call Number: REF KF 387 G27 2006ISBN: 9781414404028Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law by
Rev. ed. of: West's encyclopedia of American law. 2nd ed. 2005.
ISBN: 9781414436845Publication Date: 2011-01-21- Historic U. S. Court Cases, 1690-1990 by Call Number: REF KF385.A4 J64 1992ISBN: 9780824044305Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Historic U. S. Court Cases by
This collection of essays looks at over 200 major court cases, at both state and federal levels, from the colonial period to the present. Organized thematically, the articles range from 1,000 to 5,000 words and include recent topics such as the Microsoft antitrust case, the O.J. Simpson trials, and the Clinton impeachment. This new edition includes 43 new essays as well as updates throughout, with end-of-essay bibliographies and indexes by case and subject/name.
Call Number: REF KF352.Z9 H57 2001ISBN: 9780415930192Publication Date: 2001-09-07
Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court by
Acclaimed by researchers, students, and general readers, this informative, lively, and easy-to-use volume fills the public need for information about key recent and historical cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. Now significantly updated, this new edition includes all the new major cases-over twenty five in total-handed down by the Court since the first edition was published in 2000. The new entries include many high-profile cases that have stirred public controversy, including: Boy Scouts of America v. Dale (2000), granting the right to exclude homosexuals from leadership positions in the Boy Scouts; Bush v. Gore (2000), ceasing ballot recounts in the 2000 presidential election; PGA Tour v. Martin (2001), obliging the PGA to accommodate a disabled golfer; Lawrence v. Texas (2003), stating that a law criminalizing same-sex sodomy violates due process; Gratz/Grutter v. Bollinger (2003), stating that an affirmative action program to achieve diversity in universities may or may not violate the equal protection clause, depending on how it's implemented. In each of the over 100 cases summarized, author Tony Mauro succinctly describes the decision, provides background and facts of the case, the vote and highlights of the decision with verbatim excerpts, and, in conclusion, discusses the long-term impact of the decision on United States citizens and U.S. society. Topic search aids let readers easily trace the evolution and impact of rulings in particular issue areas. Added features also enhance the volume, including many new portraits, political cartoons, and drawings, a comprehensive bibliography and an easy-to-access case/subject index. A perfect starting point for research on Supreme Court decisions, this newly updated volume is an essential addition to every public, high school, and college library.
Call Number: REF KF4549 .M334 2006ISBN: 9781568029641Publication Date: 2005-12-07
Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court by
An important reference that provides the historical context and constitutional perspective of more than 1,000 of the most important Supreme Court cases. Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court offers an unparalleled history of the Supreme Court and its impact on American democracy and society.
Call Number: REF KF4550 .F54 2008ISBN: 9780872894099Publication Date: 2007-11-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History brings together, in one authoritative reference work, an unparalleled wealth of information about the laws, institutions, and actors that have governed America throughout its history.Embracing the interconnectedness of politics and law, The Encyclopedia addresses all aspects of both spheres, from presidents and Supreme Court justices to specifics of policy history, critical legislation, and party formation. Entries capture the unique nature of the nation's founding principlesembodied in the Constitution, the expansive nature of American democracy, political conflict, and compromise, and the emergence of the modern welfare and regulatory state, all of which evince the tensions, contradictions, and possibilities manifest throughout America's history. Clearly demonstratinghow US politics and law have evolved since the colonial era, The Encyclopedia encourages readers to anticipate further changes.With over 450 articles by expert scholars, each signed entry features numerous cross references and discussion of political and legal history as well as additional sources for further study. This two-volume A-to-Z compendium is a reference work of unparalleled depth and scope and will introduce anew generation of readers to the complexities of this dynamic field of study. It also features extensive cross-referencing, a topical outline, and a subject index.
Call Number: REF JK9 O94 2012ISBN: 9780199754618Publication Date: 2012-04-17
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History by
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is a comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law,and constitutional/higher law throughout the world and are written and signed by one of the many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts.For years, scholars have been investigating the remote origins of their respective national and religious law. Only recently has there been a developing interest in and study of the history of law in modern times. This encyclopedia will bring together the study of ancient law with the study ofmodern law-examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts.The Encyclopedia will cover ancient, medieval, early modern, and modern law in eight legal traditions and geographical/cultural areas: Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, Medieval Roman Law, United States Law, and law in other regions (Africa, LatinAmerica, and South Asia among them). It will address major categories of law within these traditions, including private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), varieties of public law (criminal law, administrative law, statutory law), and higher law/ constitutional law. It will be the firstencyclopedia of law to provide historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems.
Call Number: REF K50 O96 2009ISBN: 9780195134056Publication Date: 2009-04-17
The Supreme Court a to Z by
The Supreme Court A to Z offers accessible information about the Supreme Court, including its history, traditions, organization, dynamics, and personalities. The entries in The Supreme Court A to Z are arranged alphabetically and are extensively cross-referenced to related information. This volume also has a detailed index, reference materials on Supreme Court nominations, a seat chart of the justices, the U.S. Constitution, online sources of decisions, and a bibliography to help simplify research. The fifth edition of The Supreme Court A to Z has been thoroughly updated to incorporate coverage of significant new cases and recent changes on the bench and includes more than 350 alphabetized entries. Presented in an engaging reader-friendly design, this edition includes: Biographies of recently appointed Associate Justices Elena Kagan and Sonia Sotomayor, plus revised biographies for recently retired Associate Justices David Souter and John Paul Stevens Updated entries on key issues and concepts, including abortion, campaigns and elections, civil rights, class action, due process, freedom of the press, reapportionment and redistricting, school desegregation, and war powers A new entry on media and the Court, which highlights the Court's online presence New feature boxes on 2011 decisions Updated seat charts of the justices, online sources for finding decisions, and a selected bibliography An appendix with historic milestones of the Court The Supreme Court A to Z is part of CQ Press's five-volume American Government A to Z series. The series is useful to anyone who has an interest in national government and politics.
Call Number: REF KF8742.A35 S8 2012ISBN: 9781608717446Publication Date: 2012-03-14
Finding electronic reference books
- American Law Yearbook by
Annual supplement to the Gale Encyclopedia of American Law that updates and expands the content with new topics, updates, biographies of prominent figures and government appointees, and other features. Each year's edition contains the full U.S. Supreme Court docket in addition to the non-Supreme Court cases.
ISBN: 9780028676500Publication Date: 2021-02-05
Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education by
The Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education is a compendium of information that tells the story of law and higher education from a variety of perspectives. As many of the entries in this encyclopedia reflect, the editor and contributors have sought to place legal issues in perspective so that students of higher education and the law can inform policy makers and practitioners about the meaning and status of the law and also raise questions for future research as they seek to improve the quality of learning for all.Key FeaturesIncludes boxed excerpts from 30 key cases in tandem with their related case entriesProvides educators with enough awareness of the legal dimensions of given situations to enable them to better frame questions for their attorneys to answerAddresses emerging technologies such as webcams, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube and the challenges they create for both legislators and the judiciaryBalances the tension between the proactive and reactive dimensions of education lawKey ThemesCases in Higher Education LawConcepts, Theories, and Legal PrinciplesConstitutional Rights and IssuesFaculty RightsGovernance and FinanceOrganizations and InstitutionsPrimary Sources: Excerpts From Landmark U.S. Supreme Court CasesReligion and Freedom of SpeechStatutesStudent Rights and WelfareTechnology
ISBN: 9781412981118Publication Date: 2009-11-18- Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court by
Acclaimed by researchers, students, and general readers, this informative, lively, and easy-to-use volume fills the public need for information about key recent and historical cases before the U.S. Supreme Court. Now significantly updated, this new edition includes all the new major cases-over twenty five in total-handed down by the Court since the first edition was published in 2000. The new entries include many high-profile cases that have stirred public controversy, including: Boy Scouts of America v. Dale (2000), granting the right to exclude homosexuals from leadership positions in the Boy Scouts; Bush v. Gore (2000), ceasing ballot recounts in the 2000 presidential election; PGA Tour v. Martin (2001), obliging the PGA to accommodate a disabled golfer; Lawrence v. Texas (2003), stating that a law criminalizing same-sex sodomy violates due process; Gratz/Grutter v. Bollinger (2003), stating that an affirmative action program to achieve diversity in universities may or may not violate the equal protection clause, depending on how it's implemented. In each of the over 100 cases summarized, author Tony Mauro succinctly describes the decision, provides background and facts of the case, the vote and highlights of the decision with verbatim excerpts, and, in conclusion, discusses the long-term impact of the decision on United States citizens and U.S. society. Topic search aids let readers easily trace the evolution and impact of rulings in particular issue areas. Added features also enhance the volume, including many new portraits, political cartoons, and drawings, a comprehensive bibliography and an easy-to-access case/subject index. A perfect starting point for research on Supreme Court decisions, this newly updated volume is an essential addition to every public, high school, and college library.
ISBN: 9781568029641Publication Date: 2005-12-07
- West's Encyclopedia of American Law by
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.
ISBN: 9780787693732Publication Date: 2004-11-01
How to cite legal resources
The Bluebook
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Call Number: REF KF245 .B58- Indigo Book: A Manual of Legal Citation by
Welcome to The Indigo Book—a free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of The Bluebook’s Uniform System of Citation. The Indigo Book was compiled by a team of students at the New York University School of Law, working under the direction of Professor Christopher Jon Sprigman. The Indigo Book isn’t the same as The Bluebook, but it does implement the same Uniform System of Citation that The Bluebook does. The scope of The Indigo Book’s coverage is roughly equivalent to The Bluebook’s “Bluepages”—that is, The Indigo Book covers legal citation for U.S. legal materials, as well as books, periodicals, and Internet and other electronic resources. In addition, The Indigo Book offers citation guidance that is deeper than The Bluebook’s Bluepages—for example, The Indigo Book has citation guidance for bills, and for legislative history, that the Bluepages lack. For the materials that it covers, anyone using The Indigo Book will produce briefs, memoranda, law review articles, and other legal documents with citations that are compatible with the Uniform System of Citation.
Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2016
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (online ed. 2020) by Peter W. Martin
Open source guide courtesy of the Legal Information Institute, Cornell University Law School. This guide is based on The Bluebook (21st edition), ALWD Guide to Legal Citation and The Supreme Court's Style Guide.