Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHIS 214: EUROPE FROM NAPOLEON TO WW1 Spring 2022 214 - 01

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Selected Sources of Background Information

Art, Philosophy, and Political Science

Art History                                                                                                                                                   Ref N 5300 S923 2002

Dictionary of the History of Ideas                                                                                                            Ref CB 5 D52

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics                                                                                                                       Ref BH 56 E53 2014

Encyclopedia of Ethics                                                                                                                              Ref BJ 63 E45 2001

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment                                                                                                        Ref B 802 E53 2003

International Encyclopedia of Political Science                                                                                     Ref JA 61 I58 2011

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy                                                                                                   Ref B 51 R68 1998    

                                                                                                                                                                                    and under Databases 

                                                                                                                                                                                    on library web site

Writers and Literature

British Writers                                                                                                                                           Ref PR 85 B688 v. 3

Gustave Flaubert:  A Documentary Volume                                                                                         Ref PQ 2247 G84 2004 SB

Handbook of Russian Literature                                                                                                            Ref PG 2940 H 29

History of Continental Philosophy (Dostoevsky)                                                                                         Ref B 791 H57 2010 v. 3

Literature and its Times                                                                                                                          Ref PN 50 L574 1997

Nineteenth-century French Fiction Writers:                                                                                         Ref PQ 655 N56 1992 SB

  Romanticism and Realism 1800-1860     

Russian Novelists in the Age of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky                                                                    Ref PG 3098.3 R874 2001 SB

Literary Terms

Glossary of Literary Terms                                                                                                                     Ref PN 41 A184 2015

History

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History                                                                                            Ref D 23 B45 2010

Encyclopedia of Russian History                                                                                                          Ref DK 14 2004

Cambridge Histories Online                                         Online under Databases on library website

  This database includes the complete text of over 300 scholarly books in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed                individually in the library’s online catalog. These titles provide excellent bibliographies for further research. Use the alphabetical        title list under Databases on the library web site to Cambridge Histories Online.