Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals
For academic research, it is often important to use peer reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site alphabetically by title under the tab Databases. Databases are categorized under Browse by Discipline.
History
- Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature This link opens in a new windowSelected and critical reviews of recent historical books, journals and articles covering all periods of history.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) This link opens in a new windowCovers the scholarly literature on British & Irish history.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextIndexes international scholarly literature on world history between 1450 and the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Gender Studies
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowSelected full text of publications that cover women's and gender issues.
Covering Many Subjects, Including History
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals across the disciplines from 1980 to the present. - Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas but excludes coverage for the last 3-5 years.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
