Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EHIS 235: History of the Holocaust (Unangst) Fall 2021

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style                                                                                                         Under Databases on library web site
                                                                                                                                                                       AND
                                                                                                                                                          Ref Z 253 U69 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.
 

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and                                                                                     Ref LB 2369 T8 2018
  Dissertations (Turabian)

Finding Background Information

Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) are valuable sources of information.

  • Brief overviews
  • Important concepts, names, and dates
  • Lists of sources for further reading
  • Free photocopying at Reference Desk
  • Do not generally count as required sources

Finding Background Information

Cambridge Histories Online                                                                                                  Under Databases on library web site
Complete text of over 350 scholarly books in the Cambridge History Series and published by Cambridge University Press. Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog. Dates vary. Some titles are available in print.

**SB indicates Sub-basement location

Antisemitism:  A Historical Encyclopedia of Prejudice and Persecution Ref DS 146 E8 A 58 2005
Blackbook of Localities Whose Jewish Population Was Exterminated by the Nazis Ref D 810 J4 J22  SB
Dictionary of Jewish Biography Ref DS 115 W49 1991  SB
Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust Ref DS 135 E8 E45 2001
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust Ref D 804.3 E53 1990
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich Ref DD 256.5 G76313 1991
Holocaust Chronicle Ref D 804.25 H654 2000
Holocaust Encyclopedia Ref D 804.25 H66 2001

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum 

  Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos 1933-1945

Ref D 805 A2 E195 2009

and online  

Who’s Who in World War II

Ref D 736 M38   SB

World in Turmoil:  An Integrated Chronology of the Holocaust and World War II Ref D 804.3 E34 1991   SB
World War II Propaganda Ref D 810 P6 W45 2017

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Milne Library (Primo/Library Discovery Service).

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen.  This is an index to the collections of Milne Library. 

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject. 

Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

  • Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms.

            Example:   Nazi* searches for Nazi(s), Nazism

  • Use the question mark to replace a single character in a word.

            Example:  wom?n searches for woman and women

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words.                                

                        Example:  “National Socialism”

Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).  

For electronic books in Milne Library:         

             1.  Click on the title of the book

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to

      the full text of the book

 For print books in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick up at the Circulation Desk.

                                                                             OR

4. Using the information guide Library Floor Plans, find the book on the shelf and check

    out at the Circulation Desk.

**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.

Finding Books in Milne and Other Libraries Using WorldCat

Note:  Select WorldCat by clicking on Other Catalogs or by alphabetical title using the Databases link on the library web site. 

WorldCat is an online database that lists materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world.  Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword.  For print and e-books located listed as being available in Milne Library, you need to search the title in the Library Catalog to determine the call number and the availability of print books and to find the link to the full text of e-books.

If Milne Library does not own a book, you can request the book from another library by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record.  The bibliographic information will appear automatically on the request form, on which you click Submit.  You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan.  However, the book might also be available in print, which you can request.  See “Using the Interlibrary Loan Service” below for more information.

Using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

If you are having trouble finding materials on your topic in the Milne Library, or if the books you want are checked out or are missing, you can request books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  One-time registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests through Interlibrary Loan.

To find an item that you want in WorldCat:

  • Enter your search terms (author, title, or topic) into the search box.  ​​​​​If the library owns the item, you will see the SUNY Oneonta icon listed.  If the library does not own the item, or the item is checked out, or missing, you can request it on ILL.  Click on the title of the item to see the full record, and then click on Request via Interlibrary Loan.
  • Enter your Oneonta username and password.  All necessary bibliographic information for the source will appear on the form when you are registered.  If Milne Library owns the source, you will have to submit your request through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site.  When the book is checked out, add this information to the Notes.
  • When the item arrives, you will receive an email.  Pick up your book at the Circulation Desk. You will need to bring your student ID card.

       Note:  It can take two weeks or more for a book to arrive at Milne Library because it comes via mail or UPS. Many items, however, come in less than two weeks. If you                   need to request items through ILL, please request them early.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals and Essays/Book Chapters Using Library Databases

For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.

The following databases are listed alphabetically by title on the library web site under Databases.

Databases Covering History

Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Databases Covering Gender Studies

Suggested Journal Titles

American Historical Review

History and Theory

Journal of Modern History

Past and Present

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.  Follow link(s) to listed database(s).  If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record or on the library’s web site.

Locating the full text in print or microform:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Periodicals are located in the library’s sub-basement, which is open until 6:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, and until 7:00 p.m. on Saturday.  When the sub-basement is closed, you need to request the particular title and issue through the remote request form on the record or at the Circulation Desk.

Finding an Article in a Particular Journal Title

           For Example:  Journal of Modern History

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.​​
    • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Modern History, in the search box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear at the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical. ​​​​​​​​​​​​
    • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 
    • If the title is available in print or microfilm, see above for directions.

Finding Primary Sources

  •  Browse the library shelves.  Primary sources are shelved with secondary sources in the same subject area.
  • Use search terms such as SOURCE*, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVE*, DIAR*, SERMON*, SPEECH*, LAW AND LEGISLATION when searching print and online access tools.  The subheading SOURCE* searches for different types of primary sources, for example, Holocaust—SOURCE*.
  • Look for primary sources referenced in secondary and tertiary sources.  Use textbooks, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles of primary sources.

Selected Titles with Primary Sources

Behind Valkyrie:  German Resistance to Hitler [Documents]

Ref DD 256.3 B44 2011

and online

Holocaust and After:  Sources and Literature in English Ref Z 6360 R58 SB
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work Ref PN S6 H55 H66 2003
Holocaust:  Selected Documents in Eighteen Volumes Oversize D 820 J4 H655

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

  https://www.ushmm.org/collections/bibliography/primary-sources

Web site
The Times (London), Digital Archive, 1785—2014

Under Databases on library

web site                                                                             

     

Mary Lynn Bensen (MaryL.Bensen@oneonta)

Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta

                                                                                                                                   Last revised October 2021