Research and Course Guides: HIST 104/ALS 104 (HIST 2504/ALS 2504): Introduction to African History (Unangst) Fall 2021: Course Guide

Finding the Chicago Manual of Style for Citation and Bibliographic Formats

A short library guide for citing many types of sources is available at the Reference Desk and on the library web site at Citing Sources.

Chicago Manual of Style (e-book) Under Databases on library web site

(print) Ref Z 253 U69 2017

Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) in print and online form are valuable sources of

information. Free photocopying of entries is available at the Reference Desk. Reference sources do not

typically count as required sources.

Reference generally sources include:

Online Reference Databases

Under Databases on library web site

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Includes authoritative encyclopedias and handbooks in the social and behavioral sciences with selected titles in full text.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This database includes the complete text of over 350 scholarly titles in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library’s online catalog. Use the alphabetical title list under Databases on the library web site to link to Cambridge Histories Online.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text reference books covering many subjects, including science, math, and engineering.
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Standard reference source for information across the disciplines. Includes links to additional material in periodical articles and books, including primary sources.

Reference books on African history can be found in Ref DT on Milne Library’s 1^st floor and in the library’s sub-basement (SB).

Africa (The World Today Series)	Ref DT 1 D6 2019-2020
Africa A-Z: Continental and Country Profiles	Ref DT 30 A344 Sub-basement
Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society	Ref DT 14 A3415 2016
African Countries and Culture: A Concise Illustrated Dictionary	Ref DT3 H67 Sub-basement
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa	Ref DS 44 C37 1988
Cultural Atlas of Africa	Ref DT 14 C83 Sub-basement
Encyclopedia of African History	Ref DT 20 E53 2005
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture	Ref DT 3 P27 2001
Encyclopedia of the Atlantic World, 1400-1900Europe, Africa, and America in an Age of Exploration, Trade, and Empires	Ref DT 351 A37 2019
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture	Ref GT 2850 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of South Africa	e-book in Library Catalog
Encyclopedia of 20th-century African History	Ref DT 29 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present	e-book in Library Catalog
Historical Dictionary of Women’s Sub-Saharan Africa	Ref HQ 1787 S44 2005
Major Political Events in South Africa	Ref DT 1945 R54 1991
New Encyclopedia of Africa	Ref DT 2 48 2008
Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought	Ref DT 14 O74 2010
*Titles beginning with Historical Dictionary of…* Each volume covers a single African country.	Ref DT…

Credo Reference Search Credo Reference AND Africa

Selected titles from this distributor are available as e-books. in Library Catalog

Headings and sub-headings can appear in reversed order depending upon the focus of the source. For example:

Music—Africa

Africa—Music

Africa

Regions of Africa such as Eastern Africa, West Africa, Southern Africa

South of the Sahara

Africa, Sub-Saharan

Names of individual countries

Regions of Africa such as Eastern Africa, West Africa, Southern Africa

Subjects such as Music, Art, Environment, etc. with Africa as a sub-heading

History

Civilization

Economic conditions

Politics and Government

Social conditions

Women

Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
September 2021