Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 100: Inventing the West (Hendley) Fall 2021: Course Guide

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • E-mail Mary Lynn Bensen at maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu
  • Visit the Reference Desk in Milne Library located on the main floor of Milne Library.
  • Call the Reference Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voicemail.
  • Email a question to the Reference Desk by clicking on Services>Reference and Instruction Services>Reference Services>Contact on the library web site.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.  Request on the library web site at Research Consultations under Key Links or directly at the Reference Desk.

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style                                                                                        Under Databases on library web site        

                                                         AND

                                     Ref Z 253 U69 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and                                                               Ref LB 2369 T8 2018

  Dissertations (Turabian)

Finding Background Sources in Reference Books

Online Reference Books in Database Collections

Under Databases on library web site

Print Reference Book Titles by Geographical Areas, Time Periods, and Subjects

Geographical Areas

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History

Ref D 23 B45 2010

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Ref DT 58 O94 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome Ref DE 5 O95 2010

Time Periods

Age of Wars of Religion Ref D 114 N66 2006
Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization Ref DE 5 C28 2006
Classical Tradition

Ref DE 60 C55 2010

Dictionary of the Middle Ages Ref D114 D5 1982
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Ref D 114 E53 1999
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance & the Reformation Ref CB 359 B47 2004
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life & 

Culture

Ref CB 351 G743 2009
Grove Encyclopedia of the Northern Renaissance Ref N 6370 G76 2009
Medieval France Ref DC 33.2 M44 1995
Oxford Classical Dictionary

Ref DE 5 O9 2003

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages Ref D 114 O94 2010

World Eras (series title)

            Ancient Egypt 

           Classical Greek Civilization

           European Renaissance & Reformation

           Medieval Europe

           Rise and Spread of Islam

          Roman Republic & Empire

 

Ref DT 61 A55 2002

Ref DF 77 W67 2001

Ref CB 359 W67 2001

Ref D 102 M38 2002

Ref DS 36.85 W67 2002

Ref DG W726 2001

Subjects

Crusades:  An Encyclopedia Ref D 155 C78 2005
Crusades of the Holy Land Ref D 155 C79 2015

Cultural History of Women

             Antiquity

            Middle Ages

            Renaissance

 

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 1

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 2

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 3

 

Dictionary of Battles & Sieges

Ref D 25 J33 2007

Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity

Ref BR 66.5 D5813 2014

Encyclopedia of Homosexuality Ref HQ 76.25 E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Islam & the Muslim World Ref BP 40 E524 2004

Encyclopedia of Motherhood

            “History of Motherhood”

Ref HQ 759 E52 2010
Encyclopedia of Religion Ref BL 31 E46 2005
Fashion:  Critical & Primary Sources Ref GT 580 F374 2008
Oxford Companion to Military History Ref D 25 A2 O94 2003
Religions of the World Ref BL 80.3 R45 2010
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Ref B 51 R68 1998

Milne Library Web Site

(online under Databases)

Science & Its Times Ref RC 172 B98 2012
Warfare in the Roman Republic Ref DG 89 Q38 2014

Atlases

Atlas of the Greek & Roman World in Antiquity

Ref G 1033 A84 1981

(atlas case)

New Atlas of World History Ref G 1030 H39 2011

Biography

Dictionary of Women Worldwide

Ref CT 3202 D53 2007

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

Ref HQ 1127 S25 2001

Women in the Middle Ages Ref HQ 1143 W643 2004

Chronology

Chronology of World History:  Prehistory—AD 1491 Ref D 11 M39 1999 v. 1

Finding Books on Reserve

  • Click on Advanced Search under Milne Search (Primo/Library Discovery Service).
  • Select Course Reserves at the top of the screen and enter “Hendley” in the search box next to Course Instructor
  • Drop down menu and select Books under Material Type and click on Search.

Note:  This list will contain books on reserve for all of Dr. Hendley’s courses unless you search specifically by course name, for example, “Inventing the West” rather than by the professor’s name.

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Milne Library (Primo/Library Discovery Service).

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the collections of Milne Library.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject.  Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

  • Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example:  myth* searches for myth(s), mythology, mythologies, mythological

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words

Example:  “middle ages”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).   

For electronic books in Milne Library:     

            1.  Click on the title of the book

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to

      the full text of the book

 For print books in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick up at the Circulation Desk.

OR

4. Using the information guide Library Floor Plans, find the book on the shelf and check

    out at the Circulation Desk.

**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.

Finding Books in Milne and Other Libraries Using WorldCat

Note:  Select WorldCat by clicking on Other Catalogs or by alphabetical title using the Databases link on the library web site. 

WorldCat is an online database that lists materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world.  Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword.  For print and e-books located listed as being available in Milne Library, you need to search the title in the Library Catalog to determine the call number and the availability of print books and to find the link to the full text of e-books.

If Milne Library does not own a book, you can request the book from another library by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record.  The bibliographic information will appear automatically on the request form, on which you click Submit.  You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan.  However, the book might also be available in print, which you can request.  See “Using the Interlibrary Loan Service” below for more information.

Using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Service

If you are having trouble finding materials on your topic in the Milne Library, or if the books you want are checked out or are missing, you can request books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  One-time registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests through Interlibrary Loan.

To find an item that you want in WorldCat:

  • Enter your search terms (author, title, or topic) into the search box.  ​​​​​​If the library owns the item, you will see the SUNY Oneonta icon listed.  If the library does not own the item, or  the item is checked out, or missing, you can request it on ILL.  Click on the title of the item to see the full record,  and then click on Request via Interlibrary Loan.
  • Enter your Oneonta username and password.  All necessary bibliographic information for the source will appear on the form when you are registered.  If Milne Library owns the source, you will have to submit your request through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site.  When the book is checked out, add this information to the Notes.
  • When the item arrives, you will receive an email. Pick up your book at the Circulation Desk. You will need to bring your student ID card.  Note:  It can take two weeks or more for a book to arrive at Milne Library because it comes via mail or UPS. Many items, however, come in less than two weeks. If you need to request items through ILL, please request them early.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals Using Library Databases

For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.

All of the following databases are listed alphabetically by title on the library web site under Databases.

Selected Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Gender Studies

History

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.  Follow link(s) to listed database(s).  If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record or on the library’s web site.

Locating the full text in print or microform:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Periodicals are located in the library’s sub-basement, which is open until 6:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, and until 7:00 p.m. on Saturday.  When the sub-basement is closed, you need to request the particular title and issue through the remote request form on the record or at the Circulation Desk.

Finding an Article in a Particular Journal Title

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
    • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear at the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical.

    • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 

    • If the title is available in print or microfilm,  see above for directions.

Mary Lynn Bensen (maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu)

Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
September 2021