Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AHIS 273: A History of Canada (Hendley) Fall 2021

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style                                                                                        Under Databases on library web site        

                                                     AND

                                 Ref Z 253 U69 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available online under Citing Sources on the library web site.

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and                                                            Ref LB 2369 T8 2018

  Dissertations (Turabian)

Finding Background Information in Reference Books

Online Reference Books in Database Collections

Cambridge Histories Online                                                                                                       Under Databases on library web site

Complete text of over 350 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series.  Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog.  Dates vary.  Some titles are available in print.

Gale Virtual Reference Library                                                                                Under Databases on library web site

Collection of full-text reference books covering many subject areas, including history.

Selected Print Reference Titles

American and Canadian West Oversize F 591 S64 1979 Circulating Coll.
Canada Ref F 1026 T46
Canadian Encyclopedia Ref F 1006 C36 1985  Sub-basement
Encyclopedia of Literature in Canada Ref PR 9180.2 E64 2002
Farm Women on the Prairie Frontier

Ref HQ 1438 A17 F34 1983  Sub-basement

Handbook to the Modern World: Canada Ref F 1008 C2 1993  Sub-basement
History of Canada:  Britain & Canada in World Wars I & II Ref F 1026 S44 2010
Oxford Companion to Canadian History Ref F 1026 O93 2004
Oxford Companion to Canadian Literature Ref PS 8015 U93 1983
Oxford Companion to Canadian Military History Ref F 1028 G729 2011
Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian Ref E 76.2 R4 2014

Maps

Atlas Historique du Canada (in French) Ref G 1116 S1 H5814 1987 v.1
Historical Atlas of Canada

Ref G 1116 S1 H3 2015

Biographies

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

 Provides citations to short entries in

 reference books, including the DNB, for

 historical figures                           

                                         Under Databases on library web site
Canadian Who’s Who                                          Ref F 1033 C23 Sub-basement

Dictionary of Canadian Biography, 1000-1900

 Includes treatment of events also

                                         Ref F 1005 D49 Sub-basement

                                         http://:www.biographi.ca/en/index.php

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

   (DNB)

                                         Ref DA 28 O95 2004

Finding Books on Reserve

  • Click on Advanced Search under Milne Library  (Primo/Library Discovery Service).
  • Selected Course Reserves at the top of the screen and enter “Hendley” in the search box next to Course Instructor
  • Select Books under Material Type and click on Search.

Note: This list will contain books on reserve for all of the professor’s courses unless you search specifically by course names, for example, “A History of Canada.”

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Milne Library  (Primo/Library Discovery Service).

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the collections of Milne Library.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject.  Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

  • Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example:  Canad* will search for Canada, Canadian(s), and Canadiana

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words

Example:  “First Peoples”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).  

For electronic books in Milne Library:     

            1.  Click on the title of the book

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to

      the full text of the book

 For print books in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick up at the Circulation Desk.

OR

4. Using the information guide Library Floor Plans, find the book on the shelf and check

    out the book at the Circulation Desk.

**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.

Finding Books in Milne and Other Libraries Using WorldCat

Note:  Select WorldCat by clicking on Other Catalogs or by alphabetical title using the Databases link on the library web site. 

WorldCat is an online database that lists materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world.  Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword.  For print and e-books listed as being available in Milne Library, you need to search the title in the Library Catalog to determine the call number and the availability of print books and to find the link to the full text of e-books.

If Milne Library does not own a book, you can request the book from another library by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record.  The bibliographic information will appear automatically on the request form, on which you  click Submit.  You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan.  However, the book might also be available in print, which you can request.  See “Using the Interlibrary Loan Service” below for more information.

Selected Subject Headings for Finding Resources on Canada

Books about Canada are listed under a number of subject headings. The following is a list of broad subject headings related to the subject coverage of AHIS 273:

CANADA-- BIBLIOGRAPHY

CANADA--CIVILIZATION

CANADA—ENGLISH, FRENCH RELATIONS

CANADA--ETHNIC RELATIONS

CANADA--FOREIGN RELATIONS, GREAT BRITAIN

CANADA--FOREIGN RELATIONS, UNITED STATES

CANADA--HISTORY (and its many subdivisions)

CANADA--POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT

CANADA--RACE RELATIONS

MULTICULTURALISM CANADA

NATIONAL CHARACTERISTICS, CANADIAN

NATIONALISM, CANADA

Using the Interlibrary Loan (lLL) Service/Shared Resources)

If you are having trouble finding materials on your topic in the Milne Library, or if the books you want are checked out or are missing, you can request books from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  One-time registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests through Interlibrary Loan.

To find an item that you want in WorldCat:

  • Enter your search terms (author, title, or topic) into the search box.  If the library owns the item, you will see the SUNY Oneonta icon listed.  If the library does not own the item, you can request it on ILL.
  • Click on the title of the item to see the full record, and then on Resource Sharing.  All necessary bibliographic information for the source will appear on the form when you are registered and signed in.  You can then submit the request. 
  • If the item is checked out or missing, you will need to enter the bibliographic information using the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site, after which you will submit the request.  Include information that the book is checked out or missing in the Notes section of the form.
  • When books arrive, you will receive an email notice to pick up your book at the Circulation Desk. You will need to bring your student ID card.

Note:  It can take two weeks or more for a book to arrive at Milne Library because it comes via mail or UPS. Many items, however, come in less than two weeks. If you need to request items through ILL, please request them early.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals

Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Gender Studies

History

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of an article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site.  Follow link(s) to listed database(s).  If the article is unavailable in any database, request the article through the Interlibrary Loan link either in the database record or on the library’s web site.

Locating the full text in print or microform:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Periodicals are located in the library’s sub-basement, which is open until 6:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, and until 7:00 p.m. on Saturday.  When the sub-basement is closed, you need to request the particular title and issue through the remote request form on the record or at the Circulation Desk.

Finding an Article in a Particular Journal Title

  • ​​​​​​Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear at the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical.
  • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 
  • If the title is available in print or microfilm, see above for directions.

Finding Primary Sources (See also Dr. Hendley's list of useful titles)

Historical Documents of Canada (1914-1945)                                                                 Ref F 1003 H5 v.5  Sub-basement

Index to British Parliamentary Papers on

  Canada and Canadian Boundary 1800-1899                                                                 Ref F 1031.5 I74 Index  Sub-basement

Lexis Nexis includes full text of articles in major Canadian newspapers.

See Ref Z 1365-1375 for citations to primary sources included in listings of secondary sources.

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS.

Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources.  Use text, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.

 

Mary Lynn Bensen (maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu)

Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
September 2021