Databases
The library has access to a plethora of databases that will be helpful in your research. The list below is not an exhaustive list, but a selection of databases that will help you get started.
- Agricola This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, which includes millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research.
- Energy & Power Source This link opens in a new windowA full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. Coverage of coal, electric power, natural gas, hydrofracking, nuclear power, petroleum, and renewable energy (hydroelectric, wind, solar, alternative fuels, etc.)
- Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Search for information about environmental issues with diverse perspectives from the scientific community, policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowAddresses human impacts on the environment. Offers indexing and abstracts for about 300,000 records. Some full-text. Coverage is from about 1915 to the present.
Can be used for course content: Extensive full-text content. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Journals
The library has access to thousands of journals that will be helpful for your research. You can search for specific titles through the library's "Milne Search" located on the library homepage. Follow the directions below to search for specific journal titles:
- Go to the library homepage: https://suny.oneonta.edu/milne-library
- Click on the Journals Tab above the search box.
- Enter the title of a journal, or search a keyword to find journals on a particular subject.
- Title EX: Ocean & Coastal Management
- Keyword EX: Coastal
- Make sure to sign-in to access the contents of the journals.