Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AHIS 244: Civil War and Reconstruction (Goodier): Home

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Research Help

  • E-mail maryl.bensen@oneonta.edu
  • Visit the Circulation Desk at the library’s main entrance to request in-person help:  Mon.-Thurs. 12 noon – 10 P.M., Fri. 12 noon- 5 P.M., Sat. 12 noon – 5 P.M., & Sun. 12 noon – 10 P.M.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.  Under key links on the library web site.

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style                                                                                                                                       Under Databases on the

                                                                                                                                                        library web site

                                            Ref Z 253 U69 2010 (print)

A short library guide to the most commonly cited examples is available at the reference desk and online under Citing Sources on the library web site.

Finding Background Information

Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) are valuable sources of information.

  • Brief overviews
  • Important concepts, names, and dates
  • Lists of sources for further reading
  • Free photocopying at Research Help Desk
  • Do not generally count as required sources

Selected Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Cambridge Histories Online                                                                                                      Under Databases on library web site

Complete text of over 350 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series.  Each title is also listed individually in the library's online catalog.  Dates vary.  Some titles are available in print.

Gale Virtual Reference Library                                                                                Under Databases on library web site

            A collection of full-text reference books covering many subjects, including science, math, and engineering.

American Civil War                                                                                                                  Ref E 456 E47 1996 SB  

Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference                                                                      Ref E 468 L58 2002

 

Civil War Naval Encyclopedia                                                                                                 Ref E 591 C53 2011

 
Dictionary of Afro-American Slavery                                                                                     Ref E 441 D53 1988 SB  

Encyclopedia of African American                                                                                         Ref E 185 E545 2006

   History 1619-1895 v.3

 

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War                                                                               Ref E 468 E53 2000

 

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy                                                                                          Ref E 487 E55 1993 SB

 

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War                                                                                  Ref E 468 J777 2002 SB

 

Historical Times Illustrated   Encyclopedia of the                                                               Ref E 468 H57 1986 SB

   Civil War                                        

 

New York Times Complete Civil War                                                                                    Ref E 464 N49 2010

 

Political Lincoln:  An Encyclopedia                                                                                    Ref E 457.2 P65 2009

 

Women during the Civil War                                                                                                Ref E 628 H37 2007

 

Biographies

American National Biography                                                                                 Ref CT 213 A68 1999

Includes entries on major national figures in

            American history.

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy                                                           Ref E 467 W2 SB

            Includes biographical sketches and chronology        

            of events.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index                                                                             Under Databases on library web site

            Provides citations to short entries in

            reference sources.

American National Biography                                                                                 Ref CT 213 A68 1999

Includes entries on major national figures in

            American history.

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy                                                           Ref E 467 W2 SB

            Includes biographical sketches and chronology        

            of events.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index                                                                              Under Databases on library web site

            Provides citations to short entries in

            reference sources.

American National Biography                                                                                 Ref CT 213 A68 1999

Includes entries on major national figures in

            American history.

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy                                                           Ref E 467 W2 SB

            Includes biographical sketches and chronology        

            of events.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index                                                                             Under Databases on library web site

            Provides citations to short entries in

            reference sources.

Statistics

Historical Statistics of the United States                                                                  Under Databases on library web site

            Covers from 1600 to the present.

Chronology

Every Day of the Civil War                                                                                       Ref E 468.3 H35 2010

 

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Search Everything.

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the physical collections of Milne Library and collections of other SUNY libraries.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Drop down menu to search for a particular field such as Author, Title, Subject.  Drop down menu under Material Type and choose Books.  Click on Search

Search Tips:

  • Use truncation to search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example:  abolition* searches for abolition, abolitionist(s), abolitionism

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words

Example:  “civil war”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

By clicking on the QR code in the list of results and scanning the QR code, you will get a link to a copy of your results list.

You can limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online (limiters on the left of results list).

Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title.

For electronic books in Milne Library:     

            1.  Click on the title of the book.

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to the 

     full text of the book.

 For print books in the Circulating Collection in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check-out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick-up.  Pick-up location is in shelving across from the Circulation Desk.

4.   Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops either on the exterior

      front or back of the building or in the book drop at the Circulation Desk.

5.   Returned items will be quarantined for three days.

For print books in the Reference Collection in Milne Library

Books in the Reference Collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.  After use and before reuse, reference books will be quarantined for 3 days.  To request a reference book for pick-up and use in the library: 

  1. Find a reference book using the Library Catalog (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….).  You can select Reference Collection in the Advanced Search of the Library Catalog.
  2. Go to Get It! and select Request. 
  1. The book will be checked-out, and you will be notified by email when it is available for use. 
  1. Pick-up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Circulation Desk.  A scanner is available for public use on the first floor near the printers. 
  1. Reference books should be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk when finished. 
  1. At close of business, all 1-day use library materials will be cleared from the pick-up location. 
  1. After use and before reuse, library materials will be quarantined for 3 days. 

Finding Books in Milne and Other Libraries Using WorldCat

Note:  Select Other Library Catalogs on the library web siteSelect WorldCat in the list.

WorldCat is an online database that lists materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world.  Holdings are indicated for Milne Library and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword. 

To find books in Milne and other libraries:

  • Enter your search terms (author, title, or topic) into the search box.  If the library owns the item, you will see the SUNY Oneonta icon in the results list.  Check the Library Catalog to determine the call number and availability. 
  • If the library does not own the item, or the item is checked out, or missing, you can request it on ILL.  Click on the title of the item to see the full record, and then click on Request via Interlibrary Loan.
  • To request books on interlibrary loan, you must first register at the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site.  You need to register only once,
  • On next screen, click on Please sign in to check if there are request options.  Click on Sign In. Click on Resource Sharing.  Click on Send Request.
  • When the book arrives at Milne Library, you will be notified by e-mail.  You can pick up your book across from the Circulation Desk in the library.

Note:  You cannot request an electronic book from another library on interlibrary loan.  The electronic book, however, might also be available in print form, which you can request.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals

Link to the following databases by clicking on the Databases tab at the top of the library web site and locating the database name in the alphabetical list.

Database Covering History

Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History

Databases Covering Women’s and Gender Studies

Finding Primary Sources

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, SERMONS, SPEECHES, LAW AND LEGISLATION.

Look for primary sources referenced in secondary and tertiary sources.  Use textbooks, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles of primary sources.

Accessible Archives                                                                                                   Under Databases on library web site

            Provides archived historical primary source

            material in American history.

American Slavery:  A Composite Autobiography                                                     Under Databases on library web site

            Includes volumes covering slavery in 26

            states under title The American Slave.

Annals of America  (vols. 8,9,10)                                                                             Ref E 173 A7931      

            Topical index  (2 vols.)                                              

            Volumes include full text of primary sources in American history from 1850-1883.

Civil War Eyewitnesses:  An Annotated                                                                  Ref E 601 C65 2000 SB

   Bibliography of Books and Articles                                   

   1986-1996                                                   

Civil War Sourcebook                                                                                              Ref E 468 E24 1992 SB

   Includes excerpts of primary sources                             

Defining Documents in American History:                                                           Ref E 464 C58 2014

   Civil War (1860-1865)

Milestone Documents in African-American                                                          Ref E 184.6 M55 2010

   History v.2 1853-1900

Military Bibliography of the Civil War                                                                  Ref Z 1242 D6 1961a SB

Slave Culture                                                                                                          Ref E 49 R33 2017

Web Sites

Library of Congress:  Digital Collections                                                               Google search

          (See American History)

Making of America Journals (Cornell)

            Digital library of primary sources in social                                                     Under Databases on library web site

            history from the Antebellum period through

            reconstruction.

New York Heritage:  Digital Collections                                                                               Google search                                   

            Includes digitized primary source documents from

museums, libraries, and other cultural institutions

in NYS.

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for the journal title in the Journals tab on the library web site. 

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Note specific issues available in Milne Library.  Refer to the section “For particular issues in the Periodicals Collection” in this course guide to request an issue.

Finding an Article in a Specific Journal

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box.  Click on the title of the periodical.
  • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 
  • If the title is available in print or microfilm, note the issues available in Milne Library and refer to the section "For particular issues in the Periodicals Collection" in this course guide to borrow the issue. 

For specific issues in the Periodicals Collection

Journals and newspapers in the library’s periodical collection are available for 1-day use in the library building.  To request a journal or newspaper for pick-up and use in the library: 

  1. Search the title using the Journals tab (make sure it says Available at Milne Library….). 
  1. Go to Get It! Choose the issue or volume wanted, select Request Item for Remote Check-out and submit the form. Use the Comment field to list a specific date if necessary. 
  1. The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by email when it is available for use. 
  1. Pick-up location is on the first floor of the Milne Library across from the Circulation Desk. 
  1. Journals and newspapers should be returned to the book drop at the Circulation Desk when finished. 
  1. At close of business, all 1-day use library materials will be cleared from the pick-up location. 
  2. After use and before reuse, library materials will be quarantined for 3 days.

Finding Videos

Films on Demand                                                                                                      Under Databases on library web site

            Includes streaming videos covering subjects across

            the disciplines from major producers.

VAST:  Academic Video Online                                                                                Under Databases on library web site

            Collection of streaming video across the

disciplines.     

                       

Mary Lynn Bensen (MaryL.Bensen@oneonta.edu)
Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
February 2021