Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Selected Resources for Research in Science and Technology - ONC BOCES New Visions : Home

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Finding Background Information

Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) are valuable sources of information.

  • Brief overviews
  • Important concepts, names, and dates
  • Lists of sources for further reading
  • Do not generally count as required sources

Britannica Academic Edition                                                                  See Databases on library website     

            Standard reference source for information

            on many subjects.                              

Gale Virtual Reference Library                                                             See Databases on library website

            A collection of full-text reference books

covering many subjects, including science,

math, and engineering.

Finding Print and Selected Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Search Library

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen. This is an index to the collections of Milne Library.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject.  Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen after entering search terms.

Search Tips:

  • Use truncation to search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example:  efficien* searches for efficient, efficiency(ies)

  • Use quotation marks to bind terms together

Example: “wind farm*”

After retrieving your list of results:

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing). 

Signing in also provides access to your search histories and allows you to create personal lists of useful sources to which you can later return. 

Click on titles to see more information about the source.  Click on the terms after Subject for lists of sources devoted specifically to coverage of the topic.

To access books:

For electronic books in Milne Library:     

            1.  Click on the title of the book

2.  Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to the                               

     full text of the book

 For print books in Milne Library:

1.   Note the availability status.

2.   Go to Get It! and select Request Item for Remote Check Out.

3.   The item will be checked out to you, and you will be notified by e-mail when it is

      available for pick up.  Pick-up location is in the Argo Tea lobby.  (M.-TH. 7:30   

      a.m.–10:00 p.m., FR. 7:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., SAT. 12:00 noon – 5:00 p.m., SUN.       

      12:00 noon – 10:00 p.m.)

4.   Library items can be returned at any time through the book drops either on the  

      exterior of the Milne Library building (to the right of the main front entrance) or next       

      to the rear entrance of the library.

5.   Returned items will be quarantined for three days.

**Virtual Browse (at the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title, which can also be useful, since like titles are classed together.

Finding Periodical Articles

All of the following databases are listed on the library website in the alphabetical list under Databases.

Coverage of Multiple Subjects

Coverage of Science, Mathematics, and Technology

Agriculture

Business

Environment

History and Politics

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, the full text of the article might be available in another database. Try searching for journal title in Journals tab on library web site. 

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If the article is not available at Milne Library in any form, request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan.  Registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests.  The Interlibrary Loan link is on the library home page.  Complete the appropriate request form and submit, if there is no link to request form from the database record, or there is no record in library databases.  

Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear in the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical.

  • If the title is available in a database, link to the appropriate database where you can search for the article needed.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. 

Finding Streaming Video

Academic Video Online

            Multidisciplinary collection of streaming videos across the disciplines.

Films on Demand

A complementary database to Academic Video Online with coverage across the disciplines, including videos from major producers.

Finding Resources Using Google

Use Advanced Search to refine terms of the search, including particular domain to be searched, for example, .gov, .org, .edu.

 

 

Mary Lynn Bensen (MaryL.bensen@oneonta.edu)

Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
L
ast revised January 2021